Event Partners


The Sailing World Championships is the principal qualification event for the Olympic Sailing Competition. Only the events and equipment included in the next Olympic Sailing Competition are included in the programme of the Championships.

Past Championships

The largest congregation of Olympic sailors converged on Cadiz in southwest Spain for the first ISAF World Championships from 11-24 September 2003.

From 28 June-13 July 2007, Cascais, Portugal hosted the second edition of the ISAF Sailing World Championships. Building on the success of Cadiz four years earlier, 1,350 sailors and 900 boats represented 76 nations in the biggest Olympic sailing event yet. Footage of the 2007 ISAF Sailing World Championships was broadcast on television networks across 61 nations with a worldwide TV footprint of 564 million viewers.

Perth, Australia hosted the third ISAF Worlds in December 2011. 1200 sailors from 79 nations took part, racing for world championship glory and Olympic qualification. As the principal qualification event for the London 2012 Olympic Games, 75% of all national places were decided.

Santander hosted the 2014 edition of the ISAF Sailing World Championships. More than 1,100 sailors in 700 boats raced over a two week period in the ten OIympic events. The event saw 50% of Rio 2016 Olympic Games places snapped up.

The Future...

The next Sailing World Championships will be held in Aarhus, Denmark in 2018. The venue for the 2018 ISAF World Sailing Championships will be held at the Aarhus International Sailing Centre at the tip of Aarhus Ø - at the edge of the Bay of Aarhus.

Worlds Multimedia
Latest Galleries
Worlds Events
  • Future Events
  • Past Events
© 2021 All Rights Reserved by Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM