The Official Website
of the ISAF Rolex
World Sailor
of the Year Awards
10 August 2009, 04:22 pm
ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2009
World Sailor of the Year trophy
The ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards Trophy

Nominations Invited
Southampton, UK

Nominations are now invited for the 2009 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards, the most prestigious award of recognition in the sport of sailing. The nominees and winners since the first presentation in 1994 form an exceptional roll call of the world's top sailors from all disciplines of the sport.
There is only one male and one female ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year, who will not only win the coveted Rolex timepiece and trophy, but receive true recognition of their achievement from their peers across the world.

Nominations may be made by anyone and the only criteria are that sailors must have performed an "outstanding achievement in the sport of sailing" during the qualifying period of 1 September 2008 to 31 August 2009. Nominations should be sent in to ISAF by 12.00hrs (UTC) on Wednesday 9 September 2009 on the Official Nomination Form which may be found at

A shortlist of nominations will be drawn up by ISAF from all those received by the deadline and those making the cut will go on to become the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2009 Nominees. The 130 ISAF Member National Authorities will then vote for one male and one female sailor who they believe merit the Awards.

The accomplishments of the sailors nominated each year are an inspiration - from windsurfers and dinghy sailors to offshore specialists, a nominee's achievements may be an exceptional series of regatta wins, a record breaking passage or a triumph against the odds. There have already been some remarkable achievements in our sport since September 2008.

The winners will be announced at an Awards dinner on Tuesday 10 November in Busan, Korea, the host city for the ISAF Annual Conference. They will be presented with the unique marble and silver trophy depicting the globe, crowned with five silver spinnakers representing the continents, together with a personalized Rolex timepiece.

The past nominees and winners of the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year include the highest achievers in the sport, with the winners' roll call reading:

2008 Ben Ainslie (GBR) Alessandra Sensini (ITA)
2007 Ed Baird (USA) Claire Leroy (FRA)
2006 Mike Sanderson (NZL) Paige Railey (USA)
2005 Fernando Echavarri & Anton Paz (ESP) Ellen MacArthur (GBR)
2004 Robert Scheidt (BRA) Sofia Bekatorou & Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE)
2003 Russell Coutts (SUI) Siren Sundby (NOR)
2002 Ben Ainslie (GBR) Sofia Bekatorou & Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE)
2001 Robert Scheidt (BRA) Ellen MacArthur (GBR)
2000 Mark Reynolds & Magnus Liljedahl (USA) Shirley Robertson (GBR)
1999 Mateusz Kusznierewicz (POL) Margriet Matthijse (NED)
1998 Ben Ainslie (GBR) Carolijn Brouwer (NED)
1997 Pete Goss (GBR) Ruslana Taran & Elena Pakholchik (UKR)
1996 Jochen Schümann (GER) Lai Shan Lee (HKG)
1995 Russell Coutts (NZL) Isabelle Autissier (FRA)
1994 Peter Blake (NZL) & Robin Knox-Johnston (GBR) Theresa Zabell (ESP)

© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM