An Official
Website of
World Sailing

Next Regatta

Sailing World Cup | Qingdao 2016

19 Sep 16 - 25 Sep 16

:: ::

Media Guide

The ISAF Sailing World Cup is a world-class annual series for Olympic sailing. It is open to the sailing events chosen for the Rio 2016 Olympic Sailing Competition.

Following demand from sailors, ISAF Member National Authorities and the media the International Sailing Federation launched the ISAF Sailing World Cup in 2008 to bring the existing major regattas on the Olympic sailing circuit together.

Over 2,000 of the world's leading sailors representing 75 nations competed in the fifth season of the ISAF Sailing World Cup as the best sailing talent gathered.


Melbourne, Australia will begin the 2015 ISAF Sailing World Cup journey mid December 2014. Miami, Florida, USA will host the next stop on the circuit in January 2015 before a double European stopover. Sailors will head to Hyères, France in April before returning to the London 2012 Olympic Sailing Competition venue of Weymouth and Portland, Great Britain in June. The final stopover on the 2015 circuit will be Qingdao, China in September before the top sailors head to Abu Dhabi for the Final.

Qualification places for the ISAF Sailing World Cup Final are up for grabs at each event. The Final will bring together the top 20 boats in each Olympic event and an Open Kiteboarding event and the ISAF Sailing World Cup Champions will be crowned.

Download the Media Guide for the 2015 ISAF Sailing World Cup series.


Abu Dhabi will host the inagural ISAF Sailing World Cup Final through to 2017. Set in the UAE's stunning capital, the Final will bring together the top 20 boats from each Olympic class as well as an open kiteboarding event. It will provide the best with an annual challenge to be crowned ISAF Sailing World Cup Champion.

With supplied equipment as well as financial help with accommodation and expenses the final is a new concept. Prize money will be awarded to the top three overall finishers in each of the Olympic events from a total prize purse of US$200,000.

Download the Media Guide for the 2014 ISAF Sailing World Cup Final


The 2013-2014 ISAF Sailing World Cup starts in China, before moving to Australia, USA and finishing in Europe. The 2013-2014 ISAF Sailing World Cup sees the introduction of a new venue, Qingdao, China, the host venue of the Beijing 2008 Olympic Sailing Competition.

ISAF Sailing World Cup Regattas are the highest graded events in that they are worth 200-points for sailors in the ISAF World Ranking System. With the stakes high at ISAF Sailing World Cup regattas the top sailors will feature prominently on the ISAF World Sailing Rankings.

Download the Media Guide for the 2013-2014 ISAF Sailing World Cup.

2016 Sailing World Cup

07-Dec-2015Sailing World Cup MelbourneMelbourne
23-Jan-2016Sailing World Cup MiamiMiami
25-Apr-2016Sailing World Cup HyeresHyeres
06-Jun-2016Sailing World Cup Weymouth & PortlandWeymouth & Portland
19-Sep-2016Sailing World Cup QingdaoQingdao
04-Dec-2016Sailing World Cup FinalMelbourne
SWC on World Sailing TV
  • No ALT tag specified
    Sailing World Cup Weymouth and Portland Preview
  • No ALT tag specified
    LIVE Sailing on 1 May - SWC Hyeres Medal Races
  • No ALT tag specified
    Sailing is Believing - World Cup Hyeres is here
  • No ALT tag specified
    Sibling Rivalries, Brothers in Arms
  • No ALT tag specified
    Aussie gold medallists line up for OptiOlympic title
  • No ALT tag specified
    Fast finish to Abu Dhabi
Top 6 Nations
  • SWC 2015-16
  • SWC All-Time
Medal Tally
Medal Tally
Other News
© 2016 All Rights Reserved by Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM