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Rule 18.2(b) Giving Mark-Room 
Rule 21 Exoneration 
Rule D2.2 Protests by Boats 
Rule D2.3(a) Penalties Initiated by Umpires 
 
 
Question 
 
Y is overlapped on the inside of B when B enters the zone of a mark to be rounded to port. The 
umpires agree that Y touched the mark. No boat protests and no boat takes a penalty. What 
action should the umpires take? 
 

Answer 
 
If the umpires decide that B gave Y mark-room, they should act under rule D2.3(a) and penalise 
Y for breaking rule 31. 
 
If the umpires decide that Y touched the mark because B failed to give her mark-room, they 
should make no signal. Y broke rule 31 by touching the mark; however, she was sailing within 
the mark-room to which she was entitled and is exonerated under rule 21(b). 
 
Although B broke rule 18.2(b), she cannot be penalised under rule D2.2 because no boat 
protested, and rule D2.3 does not permit umpires to initiate a penalty when a boat on the other 
team breaks a rule of Part 2. 
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