
 
 
RAPID RESPONSE TEAM RACING CALL 2012/001 
 
 
Rule D2.2(a)  Umpired Races 
Rule D2.2(d)(3) Penalties Initiated by Umpires 
Rule D2.3(a)  Single-Flag Protest Procedures 
 
 
Question 1 
Rule D2.3(a) Single-Flag Protest Procedure applies. There was an incident between boats B 
and Y. The umpires decided that Y broke a rule. B protested, but Y did not take a penalty. 
What should the call be? 
 
Answer 1 
If the umpires agreed that there had been a valid protest, that Y broke a rule and that no boat 
had taken a penalty, they should penalize Y. 
 
Question 2 
If in the same situation Y acknowledged that she broke a rule and signalled that she would take 
a voluntary penalty but failed to do so, what should the umpires do? 
 
Answer 2 
Because Y indicated that she would take a voluntary penalty and then did not, the umpires 
should consider signalling an additional penalty to Y under rule D2.2(d)(3) for a breach of 
sportsmanship or report the incident to the protest committee under rule D2.2(d), or both. If the 
umpires decide to penalize, they should consider a penalty of one or more turns, in addition to 
any penalty for breaking a rule. 
 
Question 3 
What should the call be if the umpires decided that B broke a rule? 
 
Answer 3 
If in the same situation the umpires agreed that there had been a valid protest, that B broke a 
rule and that no boat had taken a penalty, they should penalize B.  
 
In addition, if Y had indicated that she would take a voluntary penalty but failed to do so, see 
answer 2. 
 
Question 4 
What should the call be if the situation was the same, but rule D2.2(a) applied? 
 
Answer 4 
If B made the protest valid by in addition displaying a yellow flag and hailing 'Umpire', the call 
should be the same as in questions 1 and 3. 
 
 



 
 
 
If B only displayed a red flag and hailed 'Protest', the umpires should take no action with regard 
to the incident between the two boats. However, as Y indicated that she would take a voluntary 
penalty and then did not, see answer 2. 
 
Question 5 
What should the call be if there was an incident and no protest, but a boat indicated that she 
would take a voluntary penalty and then did not? 
 
Answer 5 
See answer 2. 
 
 
Umpires should consider signalling an additional penalty to a boat if they agree that the boat 
had clearly stated an intention to take a penalty turn and then failed to do so. 
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