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Rule 17 Proper course ISAF

WORLD SAILING

ISAF RAPID RESPONSE TEAM RACING CALL TEAM 2009/002

Question

Approaching a leeward mark to be left to port, White establishes a leeward overlap on
Grey from clear astern before Grey enters the zone.

White then gybes onto port and, while still overlapped, gybes back onto starboard.

White does not round the mark but continues on starboard, thereby sailing above a
proper course.

Grey makes a valid protest. What should the call be?
Answer
No penalty.

When White first establishes the overlap, she is subject to rule 17 and may not sail
above a proper course.

Once White gybes, rule 17 no longer applies as the boats are on opposite tacks.

When White returns to starboard tack — rule 17 does not apply because once rule 17
has been switched off it never gets switched back on again during the same overlap.

White is entitled to sail above her proper course.
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