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Rule 28.2   Sailing the Course 

Rule C7.3(b)    Penalty Limitations 

Definitions    Mark 

 

 

Question 

 

A boat with an outstanding penalty takes the appropriate penalty 

 

a) within two hull lengths of Mark L when on leg 1 to Mark W, or 

b) within two hull lengths of Mark L when approaching the finishing line. 

 

Has she correctly taken her penalty? 

 

Answer 

 

Yes. Rule C7.3(b) does not permit a boat to take a penalty within two hull lengths of a 

rounding mark. However, for the purpose of rule C7.3(b), Mark L is not a rounding 

mark on the first beat or the final downwind leg. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This call is valid until 1 January 2009 


