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Situation 
 
Q&A 2013.017 B005 describes a situation where a boat enters the zone clear ahead, but does not 
have the right to room to gybe after she has rounded the mark as necessary to sail the course. This 
appears to be linked to the fact that the boat clear astern remains clear astern during the rounding 
manoeuvre. 
 
 

Question 1 
 
Assume the situation started up the same way, but the boat clear astern established an inside 
overlap after the boats had entered the zone and while the other boat was entitled to mark-room. If 
gybing round the mark was a proper course for the boat clear ahead at the zone, would she now 
have the right to room to gybe under rule 18.2(c)(2) provided both boats remained inside the zone 
and overlapped? 
 
 

Answer 1 
 
Yes. As the inside overlap was obtained before mark-room had been given, the boat required to give 
mark-room must additionally give the other boat room to sail her proper course while they remain 
overlapped. Providing the boat entitled to mark-room is sailing her proper course, she is sailing 
within the room to which she is entitled by rule 18.2(c)(2) and will be exonerated under rule 21(a) for 
breaking rule 10. 
 
This obligation to give room to sail a proper course, and the related exoneration, will continue to 
apply until either the overlap is broken or the boat entitled to mark-room leaves the zone. 
 
 

Question 2 
 
Would the answer be the same if, when the overlap was established, the boat entitled to mark-room 
had already been given mark-room? 
 
 

Answer 2 
 
No. If the boat had been given mark-room when the overlap was established, rule 18.2(c)(2) would 
not apply. 
 
Whilst rule 18 would continue to apply as long as at least one of the boats is still in the zone and the 
rule has not been switched off, no part of rule 18.2 places any obligations on any boat. This is 
because rule 18.2(c)(2) specifically states that the circumstances have to be met 'when' there is an 
existing requirement on a boat to give mark-room. Once mark-room has been given, no such 
requirement exists. Therefore, the boat that was clear ahead is no longer entitled to room or mark-
room, rule 21 no longer applies, and the boat that entered the zone clear ahead is governed by the 
rules of Section A.  See also Q&A2013.017 B005. 
 
 



Question 3 
 
Are there other circumstances where a boat gybing to port tack in front of a boat on starboard tack 
can rely on exoneration under rule 21 if she breaks rule 10, and if so, under what circumstances? 
 
 

Answer 3 
 
Rule 21 only addresses situations governed by the rules of Section C. There may be situations at 
continuing obstructions where the boat clear ahead will need room to gybe, in which case rule 21 
may also apply. 
               See also Q&A2014.001 B007 

 


