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Situation at position 1 

Green is an inside boat and will require room from Blue to pass behind Yellow. The leeward port 
boat Blue is sailing a course to pass behind the leading starboard boat Yellow.  

 

Blue is able to cross the leeward starboard boat Purple easily, but will have to make a 

substantial alteration of course to avoid the windward starboard boat Grey. Blue asks Green for 
room to tack. 

 

Question 1  

When Blue asks for room to tack at position 1 does that relieve her of her obligations under rule 

19.2 (b) to give Green room to pass below the leading starboard tack boat? 

 

Answer 1 

No. Although the preamble to Section C says that when rule 20 applies rule 19 does not, that 

is the case only between two boats at the same obstruction. Rule 19.2(b) requires Blue to 

give room to Green at the obstruction Yellow.  
 

Separately, rule 20 applies between Blue and Green at Grey, which is a different obstruction. 

Both rules therefore apply.  
 

Question 2  

If the answer to Q1 is no and Green passes behind Yellow and tacks as soon as possible, will 

Blue be exonerated under rule 20.2 if while tacking she fails to keep clear of Grey? 
 



Answer 2 

No. Rule 20.2 says that it applies when a boat is taking room to which she is entitled under rule 

20.1(b). Because the room referred to in rule 20.2 is room for a boat responding to a 'You tack' 
reply, Blue cannot be exonerated under 20.2 with respect to Grey. 

 

Question 3  

If the answer to Question 2 is also no, and Blue cannot tack after position 2 and keep clear of 

Grey or bear away and keep clear of Purple, what should she do? 

 

Answer 3 

Blue must hail Green in time to give Green time to respond as required by rule 20.1(a). If after 

Blue’s hail, Green was able to tack to leeward of Yellow, Green broke rule 20.1(b) by not doing 

so. If that resulted in Blue breaking rule 10 or 13 with respect to Grey, Blue would be 
exonerated in any resulting protest hearing under rule 64.1(c).  

 

If after Blue's hail the first opportunity for Green to tack was after passing astern of Yellow, 
Green complied with rule 20.1(b). Blue must avoid contact with other boats if reasonably 

possible and take a penalty if she believes she may have broken a rule of part 2. 


