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Question: 

 
Is a boat entitled to pass as close to any mark as she pleases without getting entangled 

with its ground tackle?   If a boat gets entangled and thereby loses time, prejudicing her 

finishing position, is she entitled to redress? 

 
The Race Management Manual emphases the obligation of race committees to lay 

marks in such a way that boats cannot get caught, but there is a view that a boat must 

take some responsibility, and if she gets caught on the ground tackle she is partly at 
fault, which would deprive her from the possibility of getting redress (‘... through no fault 

of her own...’)  

 

Answer 
Current, wind, water depth, tidal range, the type of mark, its weighting and the 

characteristics of the boat passing it can all affect the possibility of entanglement with a 

mark’s ground tackle. Good seamanship requires a boat to make allowance for these 
to the best of her ability, and she should not assume that it will always be safe to pass 

as close to the mark as is physically possible. This will also affect the amount of mark-

room from other boats to which she is entitled. The less she can show she took these 
factors into consideration, the more likely it will be that she was at fault. 

 

For a boat that gets entangled in a mark’s ground tackle to be entitled to redress under 

rule 62.1(a), there must first be an improper action or omission by the race committee. 
This will be so only if there is a risk of entanglement that boats could not reasonably be 

expected to anticipate and the race committee could clearly have done something 

different that would have avoided or substantially reduced this risk 
 

 

 


