
 
ISAF Racing Rules Question and Answer Service 
 
 
J 013  Q&A 2010-31 
  Published: 2 September 2010 
 
 
 
Situation 
 
Two boats are involved in an incident and have contact. They are both very late in displaying their 
protest flags and the protest would be invalid on that ground. 
 
However both boats suffer damage. On one there is a scratch on the outside. In fact there is more 
serious damage internally, but that is not known till later. The other boat has a bent stanchion. 
 
The scratch is obvious to the crew on the boat with the scratch, and the bent stanchion is obvious 
to the crew on the boat with the bent stanchion. However, neither boat is aware of any damage on 
the other boat.  

Question 1 
 
Does damage referred to in rule 61.1(a)(3) mean that it must be serious enough to affect 
performance or value, or can it be any damage, however minor? 

Answer 1 
 
Damage means physical harm caused in such a way as to impair the boat’s value, usefulness, or 
normal function. The only limitation in rule 61.1(a)(3) regarding the damage is that the damage 
must be obvious to the boats involved.   

Question 2 

Does the damage have to be obvious to the other boat, or is it sufficient that it is obvious to the 
boat on which it occurs?  

Answer 2 
 
Unless the damage is obvious to both boats, it does not meet the requirements of rule 61.1(a)(3).  

Question 3 
 
Is it necessary that both boats are damaged? 
 
Answer 3 
 
No. It is sufficient that one boat is damaged, provided the damage is obvious to both boats.  
 
  


