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Question 
 

A few minutes before the warning signal for a race there is a port starboard collision between two 

boats intending to start in the race. There is serious damage to the starboard boat and she is 
unable to start in the race because of this damage. 

 

Is she entitled to redress for the race in which she could not start? 
 

Answer 

 

Yes. The preamble to Part 2 says that the rules of Part 2 apply to boats in the racing area that 
intend to race. Rule 62.1 allows for redress to be granted when a boat can establish that her 

score in the race or series has, through no fault of her own, been made significantly worse by 

injury or physical damage because of the action of a boat that was breaking a rule of part 2.  
  

The preamble also says that the boat that caused the damage cannot be penalized for breaking 

one of the rules of Part 2 except rule 23.1.  

 
 


