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Situation: 
 

The boats are Extreme 40 catamarans. 
Yellow is sailing downwind on starboard; Blue is sailing upwind on a different leg on 
starboard, overlapped to leeward of Yellow. 
Yellow sails over the top of Blue. Blue holds her course throughout. There is contact 
between the bow of Blue and the aft port quarter of Yellow (last 15cm or so). Yellow 
tries to avoid the contact ‘at the last minute’ by bearing away. 
The diagram refers. 
 
 

 
 
Question 
 
Under rule 14, Yellow must avoid contact if it is reasonably possible to do so.   
Does the fact that Yellow had the option to bear away or luff before reaching Blue 
mean she has had reasonable possibilities to avoid contact? 
Or need Yellow only take action to avoid contact when it is clear to her that a collision 
course has been established between her and Blue and she must do something to 
avoid contact (i.e. here when she is crossing and realises she is not going to keep 
clear without further action?). 
 
 
Answer 
 
Rule 14 requires all boats to avoid contact if reasonably possible. When a keep-clear 
boat approaches a right-of-way boat on a converging course it is in all but the most 
extraordinary cases reasonably possible to avoid contact. In addition, when a keep-
clear boat sails a course to pass directly in front of a right-of-way boat, it is always 
reasonably possible to avoid contact if appropriate action to keep clear is taken early 
enough. 
 
In addition, in a situation as described, when the right-of-way boat realises that the 
keep-clear boat is not going to keep clear, she too has an obligation under rule 14 to 
try and avoid contact. 
 



In this case, it was reasonably possible for Yellow, as the keep-clear boat, to have 
avoided contact by luffing or bearing away before she reached Blue. It was also 
reasonably possible for Blue to have avoided contact when it became clear to her 
that Yellow was not keeping clear. This she failed to do. 'However, Blue, as the right-
of-way boat, could only be penalised under this rule if the contact caused injury or 
damage to either boat.' 
 
 
  
 

 


