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In addition to Q&A 2009-20 there are two situations for clarifying the question of
proper course in relation to the new definition Mark-Room and rule 18.5(b).

Situation 1

A (Green) on port windward is overlapped at the zone to B (Red) and therefore
entitled to mark-room (rule 18.2(b)). C (Blue) on starboard is fetching the mark. B
passes astern of C. A is rounding the mark as she would do in the absence of the
boats B and C. A does not keep clear of C.

Question 1:
Is A sailing her proper course?

Answer 1:

The proper course of A is not relevant in this situation as no part of rule 18 applies
between A and C (rule 18.1(a) and (b)).

A must keep clear of C under rule 10.

Question 2:
What should the decision be?

Answer 2:

A did not to keep clear of C as required by rule 10. Disqualify A.

B gave A mark-room and did not compel A to break rule 10, so rule 64.1(c) is not
applicable.

All published answers are based upon the 2009-2012 Racing Rules of Sailing



Situation 2

] Course to
'2} next mark

A (Green) on starboard tack leeward is overlapped to B (Red) at the zone on a
windward mark to be left on port. C (Blue) is approaching the mark on port tack. A is
rounding the mark as she would do in the absence of the boats B and C. By
changing her course at the mark to a downwind course A comes to a collision course
with C, without giving C room to keep clear.

Question 1:
Is A sailing her proper course?

Answer 1:
The proper course of A is not relevant in this situation as no part of rule 18 applies
between A and C (rule 18.1(c)).

Question 2:
What should the decision be?

Answer 2:

A is a right-of-way boat on starboard and C is keep-clear boat on port. When A
changes course, she is required by rule 16.1 to give C room to keep clear, which she
has not done.

Disqualify A for breaking rule 16.1.

B has given A the mark-room to which she was entitled and B did not compel A to
break a rule, so rule 64.1(c) is not applicable.

All published answers are based upon the 2009-2012 Racing Rules of Sailing



