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Situation

In order to avoid contact with another boat or a mark, Yellow is forced to the wrong side of the
mark when Blue fails to give her room to round or pass it. Yellow then continues on the next leg
without returning and passing the mark on its required side.

Question

Can the protest committee conclude that this was a consequence of Blue breaking the rule
requiring her to give room to Yellow, and exonerate Yellow under rule 64.1(c) for her breach of
rule 28.1?

Answer
No.

A boat cannot be exonerated under rule 64.1(c) unless she was compelled to break the rule as
a consequence of another boat breaking a rule. In this case, although Blue broke a rule when
she did not give Yellow room at the mark, she did not compel Yellow to break any rule. Yellow
could have passed the mark on its required side any time after the incident. Yellow did not break
rule 28.1 until she finished.'

All published answers are based upon the 2009-2012 Racing Rules of Sailing



