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ISAF Racing Rules Question and Answer Service

The following Questions have been answered without reference to any class rule.
Consideration of class rules may result in different answers.

Question 1
Will any rope which is only used to support the hiking of a competitor be considered
as a hiking strap as per rule 49.17?

Answer 1
No. However a rope used as described above would be a device as referred to in
rule 49.1.

Question 2
Is it possible that a competitor uses more than one hiking strap at the same time?

Answer 2
Yes. In many boats the crew can use the toe/foot straps provided on either side of
the boat at the same time. Class rules may restrict this activity.

Question 3
Will the device as shown in the picture below be considered as a hiking strap as per
rule 49.17?

Answer 3
No — it is clearly a device designed to allow the body to be positioned outboard.

Question 4
Would the use of the device in the picture while racing break rule 49.1?

Answer 4

Yes. The arrangement may also be in breach of rule 43.1(b) as all the individual
components of the device would be included in the term ‘hiking harness’.
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