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Situation

A regatta is held over two days, with five races scheduled and one drop race if five
races are completed. On the first day, only Race 1 is completed and Boat A finishes
in second place.

On the second day, Boat A finishes fifth in Race 2. Before the start of Race 3, A
collides with B and is unable to compete in all the remaining races due to the
damage. She protests B and requests redress. The protest committee finds that A is
entitled to redress under rule 62.1(b).

The protest committee awards A average points according to A10(b) for races 3 and
4. A scores DNC in Race 5, but discards that score and is placed first in the total
score. Therefore, A wins the regatta, having competed in only two out of five races.

Question 1

Did the protest committee make an error?

Answer 1

Yes. Although the protest committee did not break any rule, its decision in awarding
the redress was not the fairest arrangement for all boats affected. In this case,

allowing a boat to use average scores for half of the counting races in the series is
not fair to the other boats.

Question 2

What would have been a more fair redress decision?

Answer 2

The protest committee should ensure that out of the counting races in a boat’s series
score, the majority of scores are based on finishing positions in completed
races. Different situations may require different redress to be granted. One possible

suggestion in this particular case is that the protest committee could have awarded
redress only for the race where the collision took place.

All published answers are based upon the 2009-2012 Racing Rules of Sailing



