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Racing Rules of Sailing 
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A submission from the Chairman of the Racing Rules Committee, after a proposal 
from the Match & Team Racing Rules Working Party 

 

Proposal: 

CALL J7 

 

Rule 11 On the Same Tack, Overlapped 

Rule 16.1 Changing Course 

Rule 18.2 Mark-Room; Giving Mark-Room 

Rule 18.5 Mark-Room; Exoneration 

Rule D1.1(c) Deletion of Rule 18.4 in Team Racing 

 

 

Question 

When A reaches the zone of a downwind mark to be left to port, she is clear ahead of X, and 

overlapped with Y to windward.  Rule 17 does not apply between A and Y. A luffs Y away 

from the mark without breaking rule 16. A remains inside the zone, and then gybes and 

returns to prevent X from rounding the mark inside her. After the gybe, A luffs quickly, 

clearly above her proper course to round the mark, without giving X room to keep clear.  

There is contact between A and X. There is a valid protest. What should the call be? 



 

Answer 

Because X was clear astern of A at the zone, rule 18.2 requires that she thereafter give A 

mark-room. Although rule 18 continues to apply whilst either of the boats are in the zone, the 

exoneration in rule  18.5(b) only applies to A's alteration of course as long as it is consistent 

with her proper course. 

Because A's alteration of course to position 6 is not consistent with her proper course, she 

breaks rule 16.1 by not giving X room to keep clear. Penalize A.  

X is required by rule 11 to keep clear of A. However, if the umpires decide that X would have 

kept clear if A had not broken rule 16, X will be exonerated for that breach. If the umpires 

decide that X was not keeping clear irrespective of the luff by A, penalize both; A for 

breaking rule 16.1 and X for breaking rule 11. 

 

When rule 18.2(b) applies between two boats and the boat entitled to mark-room is taking the 

mark-room to which she is entitled, she will be exonerated under rule 18.5 (b) for breaking 

rule 16 when she is rounding a mark on her proper course. When the change of course is not 

consistent with rounding the mark on her proper course, a breach of rule 16 will not be 

exonerated. 

 

Current Position: 

ISAF Rapid Response Team Racing Call 2008/001 – edited to conform to the new 
rules. 

 

Reason: 

Submitted in accordance with the procedures for Rapid Response Calls.  

To provide consistency in umpiring a situation that occurs in team racing. 


