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The Case Book
New Case

A submission from the Chairman of the Racing Rules Committee

Proposal:
CASE X

Rule 30.2, Starting Penalties: Z Flag Rule
Rule 30.3, Starting Penalties: Black Flag Rule
Rule 36, Races Restarted or Resailed

Rule 81, Rescheduled Races

Discussion of the terms ‘original race’, ‘rescheduled race’, ‘restarted race’ and
‘resailed race’ , the application of rules 30.2, 30.3 and 36 to races that are
restarted or resailed.

Summary of the Facts

Question 1

What is ‘the original race’, as referred to in rules 36 and 81?

Answer 1

‘The original race’ is the race that is to be restarted, resailed or rescheduled. The term is used
only in rules 36 and 81.

Question 2

What is a ‘rescheduled race’, as referred to in rule 817

Answer 2

A ‘rescheduled race’ is a race for which a new time for the warning signal is announced that
is significantly later than the time of, and often the date of, the warning signal in the sailing
instructions. The original race may have been postponed before the warning signal, postponed
after the warning signal, abandoned either before or after the starting signal, or subject to a
general recall after the starting signal. The term is used only in rule 81, for the purposes of
notifying orginal entrants and accepting new entries.

Question 3

What is a ‘restarted race’, as referred to in rules 30.2, 30 3 and 36?

Answer 3

A ‘restarted race’ is a race



e for which a warning signal was made,

¢ which was then either postponed before the starting signal or subject to a general
recall after the starting signal, and

e for which a fresh starting sequence under rule 26 is begun.

Question 4

What is a ‘resailed race’, as referred to in rules 30.2, 30.3 and 36?

Answer 4

A ‘resailed race’ is a race
e for which a warning signal was made,
¢ which was then abandoned, either before or after the starting signal, and
e for which a fresh starting sequence under rule 26 is begun.

Question 5

If a boat breaks rule 30.2 or 30.3 and the race is later restarted or resailed, does the application
of rule 30.2 or 30.3 depend on the reason for restarting or resailing a race?

Answer 5
Yes.

If a race is restarted, the application of rules 30.2 and 30.3 depends on whether (a) the original
race was postponed after the warning signal and before the starting signal, or (b) it was
subject to a general recall after the starting signal. A boat that breaks one of those rules is not
penalized if (a) occurred, but she is if (b) occurred.

If a race is resailed, rules 30.2 and 30.3 again specify different outcomes, depending on
whether the original race was abandoned before or after the starting signal. A boat that breaks
one of those rules is not penalized if her breach occurred during a starting sequence when
abandonment was signaled before the starting signal. However, she is penalized if her breach
occurred during the last minute before a start and abandonment was signaled after that start.

Question 6

Does the application of rule 36 depend on the reason for restarting or resailing a race?

Answer 6

No. Rule 36 states that, unless rule 30.2, 30.3 or 69 applies, whenever a race is restarted or
resailed, a breach of a rule by a boat in the original race shall not result in her being penalized
in the restarted or resailed race. When a race is restarted, this is the case regardless of the
reason for which the race was restarted. When a race is resailed, this is the case, regardless of
the whether the original race was abandoned before or after the starting signal.

Current Position:

None. The proposed case is a new case.



Reason:

To clarify the meaning of the terms ‘the original race’, ‘rescheduled race’, ‘restarted
race’ and ‘resailed race’ in rules 30.2, 30.3, 36 and 81.

To state clearly that an infringement after the preparatory signal and before a
postponement signal is ‘wiped out’ by rule 36 (unless rule 30.2 or 30.3 applies), by
making it clear that the term ‘restart’ includes a postponed race. ‘Restart’ is not
italicised, and rule 26 describes all that happens at and after the warning signal as
‘starting’. If ‘restarting’ were taken to mean that there had already been a starting
signal before the race was curtailed, then the status of a rule infringement in a
postponed sequence would be unclear.



