Event Partners

Trofeo SAR Princesa Sofia MAPFRE 2009
Regatta Details
Start Date4 April 2009
End Date10 April 2009
VenuePalma de Majorca
Entry Name
Entry AddressFederacio Balear di VelaAvda.Joan Miro 327 MallorcaBaleares
Tel+ 34 971 40 24 12
Fax+ 34 971 40 24 51
Registration Lists n/a
The Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia - MAPFRE is held in Majorca, in the renowned bay of Palma, every year around Easter. The next edition will take place from 4-10 April 2009 and will be special for two reasons: the launch of the ISAF Sailing World Cup and the 40th anniversary of the regatta.

The Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia - MAPFRE is the starting point of the European sailing season every year. The ten Olympic sailing events are joined by the Dragon fleet as invited class. The Dragon was the first class to participate in the most important and international sailing event held in Spain.

Born in honour of the princess of Spain at the time, HM Queen Sofia at present, the first edition was held in 1968. During the first years it was an event reserved for the Dragon class in which Prince Don Juan Carlos participated and was the winner of the 1973 edition. Thanks to the support of the Royal Family, the competition soon began to grow and in 1974 new classes were included by express wish of HM Queen Sofia. Over the past years the event has been placed among the best Olympic classes events of the world and is part of the ISAF Sailing World Cup. The organization, both ashore and at sea, and the welcoming attitude of the 500-plus regatta team and the people of Majorca, make of this event a very special competition for all those competitors that, year after year, visit the island, as well as for the around 150 accredited journalists.

The Majorcan event gathers together every year around one thousand boats and 1,500 competitors, with the top ten of each class, World, European and Olympic champions among them. Up to 48 nations were represented in the past edition. It is a very competitive regatta at international level and many nations, with Spain among them, select the regatta as trial event for their Olympic teams.

As the third event of the ISAF Sailing World Cup, the Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia - MAPFRE will already begin to see the favourite teams to achieve the final victory of this exciting, innovating world sailing circuit. Winning the regatta is also very appealing: around one thousand teams fight every year to engrave their name on the absolute trophy that is awarded to the best sailor of all classes during the majestic prizegiving ceremony normally presided over the King and Queen of Spain.

With the sponsorship of insurance company MAPFRE for fourth consecutive year, the Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia - MAPFRE is organised by the Real Federación Española de Vela, Federación Balear de Vela, Real Club Náutico de Palma, Club Nàutic S'Arenal, Club Marítimo San Antonio de la Playa and Escuela de Vela Calanova, with the collaboration of the Govern de les Illes Balears, Palma City Council, Llucmajor City Council, Consell de Mallorca, Port de Balears, Trasmediterránea Acciona, Toyota and Ultramar.

Fleet racing Disabled 2.4 Metre Overall Results
Fleet racing Men 470 2Overall Results
Fleet racing Women 470 2Overall Results
Fleet racing Open 49er 2Overall Results
Fleet racing Open Dragon Overall Results
Fleet racing Open Finn 2Overall Results
Fleet racing Men Laser 2Overall Results
Fleet racing Women Laser Radial 2Overall Results
Windsurfing Men RS:X 2Overall Results
Windsurfing Women RS:X 2Overall Results
Fleet racing Disabled SKUD 18 Overall Results
Fleet racing Disabled Sonar Overall Results
Fleet racing Men Star 2Overall Results
Trofeo SAR Princess Sofia MAPFRE04 Apr 2009 - 10 Apr 2009
RS:X (Women) Windsurfing
Position Nation Sail Number Net Points Total Points Crew
1ESPn/aBlanca Manchon
2ESPn/aMarina Alabau Neira
3ITAn/aFlavia Tartaglini
4GERn/aMoana Delle
5GBRn/aBryony Shaw
6FRAn/aMarine Rambaud
7ITAn/aLaura Linares
8FRAn/aEugénie Ricard
9HKGn/aWai Kei Chan
10FINn/aTuuli Petäjä-Sirén
11POLn/aAgata Brygola
12POLn/aMalgorzata Bialecka
13DENn/aBettina Honoré
14HKGn/aHei Man H V Chan
15FRAn/aleonore BOSCH
16FRAn/aSybille BOSCH
17GBRn/aIsobel Hamilton
18NZLn/aJustina Sellers
19GBRn/aBeth Williamson
20FRAn/aSolenn GOURAND
21FRAn/aAnne de Buyer
22GBRn/aClaudia Carney
23DENn/aSine Lysdahl
24DENn/aKatrine Jensen
25NORn/aMaria Mollestad
26GREn/aEvagelia Karagiorgou
27GBRn/aSophie Bailey
28GBRn/aKirsten O'Callaghan
29ESPn/aAndrea Ferrer
30DENn/aMarie Louise Svendsen
© 2018 All Rights Reserved by Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM