An Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
Olympic Games
5 - 21 August 2016


Fleet Racing

Each fleet racing event will consist either of a 10-race series plus the Medal Race for the Laser, Laser Radial, Finn, 470 men and 470 women classes, and a 12-race series plus the Medal Race for the RS:X men, RS:X women, 49er, 49er FX and Nacra 17 classes.

In each event, all qualified competitors/crews will participate in the opening 10- or 12-race series, for which a low-point scoring system will be used: the winner of each race will be awarded one (1) point, the competitor/crew finishing second (2nd) will be awarded two (2) points, and so on. If a competitor/crew is disqualified or fails to finish a race, they will be awarded one (1) more point than the total number of competitors/crews: for instance, if there are 20 competitors/crews, failure to finish or disqualification would result in a score of 21 points.

After the opening 10- or 12-race series, the points from the worst race performance for each competitor/crew will be discarded, and the remaining points will be added together and used to determine the rankings. At this stage, the 10 competitors/crews with the best (lowest) overall score will advance to the Medal Race, for which points are doubled: two (2) points for first (1st) place, four (4) points for second (2nd) place, and so on. Points earned in the Medal Race will be added to the total points from the opening series to determine the final rankings. Any ties in these final rankings will be broken in favour of the competitor/crew finishing higher in the Medal Race.

Live Sailing
  • London 2012
  • Overall
Other News
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM