The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
7 October 2004, 10:43 am
Final Report
No ALT tag specified

Brazilian Soling Championship
Porto Alegre

Only one point was the difference between the "gaúchos" Lucas OSTERGREN, Adrion SANTOS and Mathias MELECCHI (BRA), winners of the 35th Brazilian Soling Championship Trophy over team "Vipal" with George NEHM, Marcos PINTO RIBEIRO and Lúcio PINTO RIBEIRO.
Both crews based in the event host club the Iate Clube Veleiros do Sul in Porto Alegre.

The victory was tight and decided in the last race. The champions were placing a sixth place in the race what would give Vipal's team the victory but at the very last moment they sailed tremendously and finished fifth, enough to win the regatta and take over what would be the second and consecutive Brazilian title to the team VIPAL.

Lucas(25), Adrion(31) and Mathias(16) are a young crew in the Soling class. During the championship they won the first two races and kept a good average "We joined together and borrowed the old boat as we normally race in Lasers but the Soling is an excellent keelboat and I think any sailor without any type of limitations should be able to sail(race) any class and the Soling give us this opportunity" said the helmsman Lucas. For Adrion it was a special championship because of their performance

The last day the sailors had to battle against the high temperatures over 30ºC and again the North wind blew at the Pedra Redonda race course in the river Guaíba, with 10-12 knots.

Eight races were sailed and a record turnout of 15 teams for a Brazilian championship were the condiment powered from Brazilians coming from Rio Grande do Sul, Paraná and Rio de Janeiro.

The next Brazilian Championship Hill be in Guanabara bay, Rio de Janeiro in 2005.

Top Five After Eight Races

Pos Helm Crew 1 Crew 2 Points
3 Guilherme ROTH Carlos TREIN Roger LAMB 36
4 Pedro PROSDÓCIMO Rogério ALVES Nelson GALVÃO 36
5 Renato FARIA Eduardo FARIA Henry BOENING 41
Ricardo Pedebos (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM