The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
27 October 2004, 10:24 am
US Awards Presented At AGM
No ALT tag specified


US SAILING has recognized several sailing organizations and volunteers for their contribution and dedication to the sport of sailing during an awards presentation at the organization's annual general meeting in Portland, Ore., last Saturday.
US SAILING President Janet Baxter presented several awards, including the Gay S. Lynn Trophy for outstanding contribution to disabled sailing (awarded to Robie Pierce), the Timmy Larr Award for outstanding contribution to the advancement of sailor education and training (awarded to John Malatak), and two President's Awards.

Gay S. Lynn Trophy

Robie PIERCE (Newport, RI) was presented with the Gay S. Lynn Trophy for outstanding contribution to disabled sailors and the sport of disabled sailing. For many years, Pierce ran the Shake-A-Leg sailing program in Newport, RI, which has introduced hundreds of disabled people to the joys of sailing and sailboat racing. Pierce is also an accomplished sailor. He won the International Foundation for Disabled Sailors (IFDS) Disabled World Championship in 1993, was a three-time Independence Cup winner and finished second at the 1995 Trials to represent the USA at the 1996 Paralympics. In 1992, he joined US SAILING's Sailors with Special Needs Committee, becoming Chairman in 1993. In addition, he served as a member of the Executive Committee of IFDS from 1998 to 2002. Pierce's service to the sport of disabled sailing, at the grass roots and at the international levels, made him a very worthy recipient of the Gay S. Lynn Trophy.

Timmy Larr Award

John MALATAK, a lifelong supporter of boating safety through education and training, has received US SAILING's Timothea Larr Award for his lifelong commitment to boating safety through education and training. The award is US SAILING Training Committee's highest honor presented annually to an individual whose vision and guidance has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of sailor education and training in the United States. Malatak exemplifies the best qualities, the highest standards and selfless devotion in his lifetime service to public service and boating education in general and specifically to US SAILING'S efforts to train sailors for safety and excellence.

President's Awards

US SAILING President Janet BAXTER announced that the President's Award will be presented to Chris Bedford (Watertown, Mass.) for the outstanding meteorological services he donated to the U.S. Olympic Sailing Team in Athens last summer, as well as to the US Sailing Team throughout 2004. Baxter also announced that the President's Industry Award will be presented to A.G.A. Correa & Son (Edgecomb, ME) for creating and donating spectacular trophies for the top five winners at the 2004 U.S. Olympic Team Trials - Sailing.
US SAILING (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM