The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
26 July 2010, 10:39 am
Greek Modus Vivendi-3Alfa Crowned 2010 Platu 25 World Champions
Platu 25 Worlds 2010
The fleet in action at the Platu 25 World Championship 2010

Platu 25 World Championship 2010
Alicante, Spain

The Greek boat owned by Kostas Karageorgiou gets the title with one race to go and with no less than a 17 point lead on the second placed boat.
The rest of the podium is an all Spanish affair with Carpantxo owned by Jesús Pintos getting the silver while Iberdrola helmed by Manu Weiller the bronze The last race proved to be exciting and full of action and nothing was decided for the medals until the very end

Kostas Karageorgiou's Modus Vivendi-3Alfa won back the World title in the waters of Alicante. The Greek boat was crowned champion after six days of fierce competition. The sailors coming from Greece, who got the sceptre n 2008 and silver in 2009, were undoubtedly the best and more consistent team suffice to say that they won with a race to spare. In which, nonetheless they ended up in sixth.

Numbers don't lie, their score is impressive with three victories, a third, two sixth, two seventh and an eleventh as their worst. Their consistency was apparent in any of the thirteen races and sometimes their superiority did not leave any chance to their opponents.

On the other hand some boats as Carlos and Antón Paz's Mexillón de Galicia-Movistar had a difficult start but then went on improving their performances day after day, even menacing the Greeks but ending just down the podium. After the day's second race they seemed to have the silver medal already at their neck but due to a bad start had to trail all the race and ruined it all with an eleventh place and an OCS in the final race. Their rivals did exactly the opposite, like Carpantxo owned by Jesús Pintos, that scored a nearly perfect last race. Pintos' crew, like the Greeks, are the ones who got the maximum number of wins: three each and their scoreboard is clear of any OCS or DSQ penalties, their discards would be considered as good as any by other teams, being a tenth and a 25th in a fleet made of 66 boats. Their silver medal is then more than justified.

The bronze medal goes to Iberdrola helmed by Manu Weiller who scored a total of 61 points, even with Mexillón de Galicia-Movistar. Both teams had a disqualification for an over the line start but Iberdrola, thanks to a second and a fourth in the last two races had the opportunity to jump on the podium, doing significantly better than they did in 2009.

Behind them the battle was intense, especially when two discards were taken into account. La Revoltosa aspired to be in the winning trio, but did not show enough focus today and a twelfth made their dream fade away and they finish with the same result as last year, in fifth overall while Fermax owned by dai Mestre goes down one spot and ends sixth.

The last of the "Top Ten" places were taken by another two Spanish teams and a German: El Xacobeo 2010 Galicia owned by Ero Pons, Alfredo Mella's The Collection Coppel Dental Flexi, and El Mundo Marino Team who paid dearly the two black flag penalties they got on Thursday.

The Platu 25 Alicante 2010 closes with some disappointing results too, such as those of Bribón-Movistar owned by Marc de Antonio who was bronze in the last two editions or the Italians on Emanuele Vitrano's Brera Hotels who at the start were accredited with more than the thirteen place they achieved. Some regrets for Farrbar skipperd by the German Ahlgrim, reigning champion of the Primo Cup 2010 in Monaco. On the bright side the result of Oriol Bou's PIX1 Anna Mora that showed a brilliant improvement.

For more details, pictures and daily video reports and full results go to:
Carla Anselmi (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM