The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
29 January 2010, 12:31 pm
World Match Racing Tour Introduces $250,000 Tour Bonus For 2010
Adam Minoprio holds the ISAF Match Racing World Championship Trophy aloft
Reigning ISAF Match Racing World Champion Adam Minoprio has confirmed his participation on the 2010 World Tour

World Match Racing Tour 2010

The incentive to compete in the world's premier sailing series just got bigger: a US$250,000 overall prize pool for the top nine teams with a $50,000 bonus for the outright winner of next year's World Match Racing Tour is now on offer.
Tour Chairman Patrick Lim announced the news at the World Yacht Racing Forum in Monaco in December to add to a tour that already offers the biggest prize money of any yacht racing series in the world.

The Tour's final event of the year, the Monsoon Cup in Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia, has always been an exciting but tense and nervous affair for the teams still in with a chance of lifting the coveted ISAF Match Racing World Championship Trophy. But in 2010 sailors will also be fighting it out for their share of the quarter of a million dollar bonus, just to add to the pressure on what will be a down to the wire fight for the ISAF Match Racing World Championship.

Newly crowned World Champions, Adam Minoprio (NZL) and his BlackMatch crew have accepted their WMRT Tour Card, so they will be back, no doubt their ambition will be to win again the ISAF Match Racing World Championship and securing a major share of US$250,000 that is there for the taking. 2010 will be a year not to be missed.

2009 ISAF Match Racing World Championship - Final Standings
(Top eight teams after Stage 9 of 9 of the World Match Racing Tour)

1. Adam Minoprio (NZL) ETNZ/BlackMatch Racing, 138 Points
2. Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team, 97 Points
3. Ben Ainslie (GBR) Team Origin, 95 Points
4. Peter Gilmour (AUS) YANMAR, 93 Points
5. Mathieu Richard (FRA), French Match Racing Team Racing, 79 Points
6. Ian Williams (GBR) Team Pindar, 75 Points
7. Sébastien Col (FRA) French Match Racing Team, 55 Points
8. Damien Iehl (FRA) French Match Racing Team, 48 Points

The winner of the annual World Match Racing Tour is crowned as ISAF Match Racing World Champion. Find out more at

Yvonne Reid
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM