The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
14 January 2010, 04:44 pm
Strong International Line Up For Warren Jones Regatta
Racing at the 2009 Warren Jones Regatta
Racing at the 2009 Warren Jones Regatta

Warren Jones International Youth Regatta 2010
Perth, Australia

Competitors from five nations could give the 2010 Warren Jones International Youth Regatta its most diverse and international field in this its eighth year, with competitors from Japan, Denmark, Great Britain, New Zealand and of course Australia expected to line up for the event in the first week of February.
New Zealand are, as ever, sending a strong contingent, including last year's winner Phil Robertson, who will hope to become the third skipper to win the event twice, following in the footsteps of fellow Kiwi Simon Minoprio and world #2 skipper Torvar Mirsky of Australia.

Robertson and his Waka Racing Team came to the 2009 event ranked #51 in the world, and in the past year have risen as high as #24 on the ladder, before slipping back to #25 in the latest ranking list.

"We're stoked to be coming back, we love Perth, so we always jump at the chance to get over there," said the enthusiastic young skipper. "We've had a great season since last year, we did better than we expected, really successful, and we're just trying to plan where to go from here."

The Warren Jones Regatta is considered to be a bridge from the youth circuit to the senior circuit, and has become a launch-pad for match racing stars, with the top two on the current World Rankings, reigning ISAF Match Racing World Champion Adam Minoprio (NZL) and Australia's Mirsky, both past winners.

The event takes on a new format this year, with two regattas being run over the period of a week. Starting with the Collins Mullins International Youth Regatta, which is being used as a qualifying series to whittle the fourteen hopefuls down to ten who will make it into the Warren Jones Regatta.

Four skippers have already qualified for the main event, defending holder Robertson and fellow Kiwi skipper Reuben Corbett, along with Evan Walker of the Cruising Yacht Club of Australian and the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron's David Chapman.

The Collin Mullins Regatta kicks off on Thursday 28 January, with the Warren Jones Regatta starting Monday 1 February, both managed by Swan River Sailing and hosted by the Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club on the Swan River.

The Warren Jones Regatta is also one of the Qualifier events for entry onto the World Match Racing Tour's Danish stage, the Danish Open.
John Roberson
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM