The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
13 August 2010, 11:54 pm
First 2009 -10 ISAF Sailing World Cup Winners Decided
2010 Skandia Sail for Gold Regatta
Thierry Schmitter 2.4mR IsAF Sailing World Cup Winner

2010 Skandia Sail For Gold
Weymouth, Great Britain

Skandia Sail for Gold created the first 2009-2010 ISAF Sailing World Cup Champions today in three classes - the Skud18, Sonar and 2.4mR.
In the Skud18 it was the Australian pair of Dan Fitzgibbon and Rachael Cox that have dominated the class with seven first places and two seconds. The Beijing silver medallists beat the British team of Alexandra Rickham and Niki Birrell into second place - which made it silver in successive years at Skandia Sail for Gold for Rickham and Birrell.

We spoke to Daniel Fitzgibbon afterwards, "It's been a good week for us guys, a long week but it's been a good week. We've done really well we've sailed well and Rach [Rachael Cox] and I are getting better and better and we're doing well. It's great coming to Weymouth [with two years to go], I'm comfortable in the conditions and we've had a great a result going forward to the Games."

In the Sonar class we've had an intriguing, week long battle involving another British crew, but this time up against a Dutch team; Udo Hessels, Marcel Van de Veen and Mischa Rossen. They took an early lead, which was dragged back to just a single point by John Robertson, Hannah Stodel and Stephen Thomas going into the final day. But it wasn't to be for the Brits, who choose a bad day - Friday 13th - to have a bad day, scoring a seventh and sixth. It left the Dutch comfortable winners, with the Israeli team of Dror Cohen, Benny Vexler and Arnon Efrati just a point behind the Brits in bronze.

The 2.4mR class was another week long duel with another Dutch team involved, Thierry Schmitter up against France's Damien Seguin. The pair had traded the lead all week, and it came down to a single point - Seguin winning it in the final race. The Beijing gold Medallist, Paul Tingley from Canada fell just short of the podium in fourth.

Skandia Sail for Gold Final Results

2.4mR Results- Final
1st Seguin FRA 12 points
2nd Schmitter NED 13 points
3rd Kol NED 27 points
4th Tingley CAN 41 points
5th Pascoe GBR 46 points

Skud-18 Results- Final
1st Fitzgibbon and Cox AUS 11 points
2nd Rickham and Birrell GBR 14.7 points
3rd McRoberts and Hopkin CAN 26 points
4th Hovden and Millward GBR 36 points
5th Hall and Faulks GBR 38 points

Sonar Results - Final
1st Hessels, Rossen and Van de Veen NED 21 points
2nd Robertson, Stodel and Thomas GBR 26 points
3rd Cohen, Vexler and Efrati ISR 27 points
4th Kroker, Prem and Seigmund GER 29 points
5th Wang-Hansen, Kristiansen and Solberg NOR 38 points

2009-2010 ISAF Sailing World Cup Winners

1st Schmitter NED 96 points
2nd Tingley CAN 87 points
3rd Kol NED 84 points

Skud 18
1st Rickham and Birrell GBR 36 points
2nd McRoberts and Hopkin CAN 36 points
3rd Fitzgibbon and Cox AUS 20 points

1st Wang-Hansen, Kristiansen and Solberg NOR 54 points
2nd Robertson, Stodel and Thomas GBR 52 points
3rd Cohen, Vexler and Efrati ISR 38 points

For full race results click here

For the latest news, blog and details on tracking visit :

For the latest Sailing World Cup Standings visit the ISAF Sailing World Cup website at

Sign up to the official : ISAF Sailing World Cup Facebook

Lucy Harwood/Into the Blue (as amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM