The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 August 2010, 12:00 pm
ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2010 - Nominations Invited
The Trophy
ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards Trophy

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2010
Athens, Greece

Nominations are now invited for the 2010 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards, the most prestigious award of recognition in the sport of sailing.
Since the first Awards presentation in 1994, the nominees and winners have always included the highest achievers from all disciplines of the sport.

The accomplishments of the sailors nominated each year are an inspiration - from windsurfers and dinghy sailors to offshore specialists, a nominee's achievements may be an exceptional series of regatta wins, a record breaking passage or a triumph against the odds.

Nominations may be made by anyone and the only criterion for sailors is "outstanding achievement in the sport of sailing" during the qualifying period of 1 September 2009 to 31 August 2010.

Nominations should be sent to ISAF by 12:00 (UTC) on Monday 6 September 2010 using the Official Nomination Form, available at

A shortlist of nominations will be drawn up by ISAF from all those received by the deadline and those making the cut will go on to become the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2010 Nominees. The 130 ISAF Member National Authorities will then vote for one male and one female sailor who they believe merits the Award.

The winners will be announced at the Awards dinner on Tuesday 9 November in Athens, Greece, the host city for the ISAF Annual Conference. The winners will be presented with the unique marble and silver trophy depicting the globe, crowned with five silver spinnakers representing the continents, together with a personalized Rolex timepiece.

Who will join the list of winners?

2009 Torben Grael (BRA) Anna Tunnicliffe (USA)
2008 Ben Ainslie (GBR) Alessandra Sensini (ITA)
2007 Ed Baird (USA) Claire Leroy (FRA)
2006 Mike Sanderson (NZL) Paige Railey (USA)
2005 Fernando Echavarri & Anton Paz (ESP) Ellen MacArthur (GBR)
2004 Robert Scheidt (BRA) Sofia Bekatorou & Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE)
2003 Russell Coutts (SUI) Siren Sundby (NOR)
2002 Ben Ainslie (GBR) Sofia Bekatorou & Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE)
2001 Robert Scheidt (BRA) Ellen MacArthur (GBR)
2000 Mark Reynolds & Magnus Liljedahl (USA) Shirley Robertson (GBR)
1999 Mateusz Kusznierewicz (POL) Margriet Matthijse (NED)
1998 Ben Ainslie (GBR) Carolijn Brouwer (NED)
1997 Pete Goss (GBR) Ruslana Taran & Elena Pakholchik (UKR)
1996 Jochen Schümann (GER) Lai Shan Lee (HKG)
1995 Russell Coutts (NZL) Isabelle Autissier (FRA)
1994 Peter Blake (NZL) & Robin Knox-Johnston (GBR) Theresa Zabell (ESP)

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards Website

Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM