The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
5 April 2005, 03:10 pm
Entries In
No ALT tag specified

Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship 2005
Busan, Korea

Around 200 young sailors from over 35 countries and all six continents will be in Korea this July to compete in the 35th ISAF Youth Sailing World Championship.
Two nations new to the ISAF Youth Sailing World Championship will be competing in Korea thanks to the ISAF's Athlete Participation Programme. The Bahamas are fielding competitors in both the Laser and Laser Radial and El Salvador in the Laser. With the entry deadline of 1 April, competing nations have now confirmed the number of sailors who will be representing them on Suyong Bay in Busan, Korea. Racing in seven events will take place from 16-22 July with two days of measurement, boat allocation and practice preceding this and the going day home day on the 23 July.

28 sailors will be battling in the Single-handed dinghy for boys in the Laser Standard; 27 will compete in the Single-handed dinghy for girls in the Laser Radial; the Double-handed dinghy for boys sees 54 sailors taking part and the Double-handed dinghy for girls has 38, all of whom will be in the International 420; 22 entrants will race in the Multihull open in the Hobie 16 Spi and; 14 boys and 13 girls will contest the Windsurfer for boys and the Windsurfer for girls in the Mistral. A total of 196 sailors have been entered for the event with an additional 36 coaches and 20 team leaders.

With the success of past ISAF Youth World Champions like Ben AINSLIE (GBR), Robert SCHEIDT (BRA) and Siren SUNDBY (NOR) to name but a very few, victory in the Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship can signal the megastar of the future as well as make the star of the day. So it is no surprise that all eyes will be on Korea in July as the young sailors kick off (or in some cases, carry on) their glittering careers.

Last year's winners of the Volvo Trophy (the award presented to the top-scoring nation), France, will have 10 sailors, a team leader and two coaches in Busan, Korea to defend their title. The French are the most successful nation in the history of the ISAF Youth World Championships having won 16 golds, 22 silvers and 11 bronze medals since the first event in Angelhom, Sweden in 1971.

The Volvo Trophy In French Hands
Last year Sarah STEYAERT was their only champion in the Laser Radial but consistently high finishes in all the events (including three silver medals) insured their success over double gold medal winning nations Australia, Great Britain and Poland.

Behind them in second place last year was Great Britain. With the success of the British Olympic Team in Athens, the 13 strong GBR Youth Team will be aiming to go one better this year and improve on the two gold and three bronze medals they won in Poland in 2004.

Australia have more ISAF Youth Sailing World Championship gold medals (18) than any other nation and will be aiming to add to their impressive tally in Korea. The Australian Youth Team will, like France and Great Britain, have 10 sailors. Steven THOMAS and Tim RECHICHI will be looking to repeat the gold Nathan OUTTERIDGE and Iain JENSEN won in the 420 Boys. The same will be true of Emma FLUKES and Stephanie FLUKES who will aim to emulate 2004 Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Champions in the 420 Girls, Elise RECHICHI and Tess PARKINSON.

The USA is another formidable nation in the ISAF Youth World Championship and they will be taking a ten strong team to sail on Suyong Bay that includes 2003 ISAF Youth World Champion, Paige RAILEY in the Laser Radial.

Italy will have the largest team at the event, with a third coach lifting their total number to 14. Nine nations, Australia, Brazil, New Zealand, Italy, France, Germany, Korea, Singapore and Great Britain, will be taking their full quota of ten sailors to compete in all seven events. Whilst some nations, like the USA and Australia, have named their squads others are waiting until later in the year, and in the main, after their qualifying events have been sailed to put forward their lineups.

ISAF. Image: 2004 Champions Nathan OUTTERIDGE and Iain JESE:© Peter Bentley
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM