The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
9 September 2010, 01:59 pm
Norwegian Nergaard and His Crew Win 2010 5.5 Scandinavian Gold Cup
5.5 Scandinavian Gold Cup
5.5 Class Logo

2010 5.5 Scandinavian Gold Cup
Lake Garda, Italy

Six countries were represented in this year edition of the 5.5 Gold Cup hosted by Circolo Vela Torbole on Lake Garda: Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Norway, The Netherlands and Switzerland.
The rule is simple: the boat that first wins three races is the winner and after three races, a boat that has not won a single race no longer compete.

Kristian Nergaard from Royal Norwegian Yacht Club won the first race on Wednesday. The Swiss boat helmed by Bernard Haissly from Société Nautique de Genève made the best of a very close race on Thursday. Five boats crossed the finishing line within 30 seconds. On the third day, Nergaard once again took the advantage and won a second race.

With a score of two for Norway and one for Switzerland on Friday night and therefore only those two boats remaining in the competition, Saturday's race number 4 was likely to be very interesting.

Both the Swiss and the Norwegian boats had an excellent start. Then defending champion Nergaard deployed and mastered his match racing tactics. He successfully took the lead over the Swiss boat and sailed to the victory with his crew composed of Peer Moberg and Petter Morland Pedersen winning the Scandinavian Gold Cup in 5.5 Metre for the third time consecutively.

In the Royal Kaag Classic Cup, a fleet racing series reserved to the 5.5 Classic division, three boats were competing. Italian boat 'Carabella' helmed by Alfredo Delli won the the regatta and the Cup for the sixth time in a row!

The 5.5 Metre World Championship 2010 is scheduled to start on Monday September 6th at Circolo Vela Torbola. Seven races and more than thirty 5.5m will be competing.

About the International 5.5 Metre Class
The International 5.5 Metre Class is a class of racing yachts initially designed under the rules of the International Sailing Federation or ISAF.

Yachts of the Class are not identical but have to be strictly built as per the Class Rating Rules. We estimate that approximately 800 boats have been built around the World. The Class is divided in three divisions: Modern, Evolution and Classic.

More about the Class at:

Thierry S. Huguenin
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM