The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
27 May 2010, 12:18 pm
470 Solidarity Development Awards Announced
470 Solidarity Development Awards
470's racing at the Delta Lloyd Regatta in Medemblik

470 Solidarity Development Awards

Twenty-five teams and 18 nations will benefit from the 2010 470 Solidarity Programmes, which provide financial support and equipment for aspiring 470 sailors.
The 470 Solidarity Programmes offer a range of support to sailors and is fully encompassing to support those starting out on their 470 sailing career through to those campaigning to represent their nation at the Olympics. The challenges facing sailors in competing at events around the world are the same whatever your level of ability, and the programmes recognize that by providing an accessible pathway to financial support with up to EUR1000 per crew being awarded. Sails are also provided in partnership with Olimpic Sails. Reflecting the solid popularity in 470 sailing around the world, 43 applications were received from 25 nations.

The 470 Solidarity Programmes have been running for several years now with the International Solidarity Programme (ISP) and Olympic Solidarity Programme (OSP) focused on two different levels of ability. The ISP is aimed at those starting out in their 470 sailing and focused on "emerging 470 nations" which are developing their experience in the class and growing their base of 470 sailing. Alongside the entry fees, the capital expense of buying equipment is removed with the provision of new and virtually new 470 sails. For those sailors with the Olympic rings in their sights, the OSP provides crucial support on the campaign trail and supports entry fees towards the 2010 470 Class World Championships. Ultimately both programmes are aimed to provide the motivation to compete internationally and achieve success.

Linking with the Solidarity Programmes, the 470 Class will also be running training clinics at several of its Championships this year.

The 2010 470 Solidarity Programme recipients are:

International Solidarity Programme
Entry fee awards have been made to the following amounts - either EUR120 or EUR300 with sails as detailed:

Name - Nation - Gender - Award
Thomas Summer and Felipe Brito - Brazil - Men - Entry Fee contribution
Henrique Haddad and Thomas Low-Beer - Brazil - Men - 470 Spinnaker
Jen Braem and Erin Flanagan - Canada - Women - Entry Fee contribution
Fraser McMillan and Erik van der Pol - Canada - Men - Entry Fee contribution
Martin Kaal and Martin Leedo - Estonia - Men - Entry Fee contribution
Isamu Sakai Biddell and Michael John Halkes - Hong Kong - Men - Entry Fee contribution
Hok Yan Leung and Yau Chi Han - Hong Kong - Women - Entry Fee contribution
Tamas Vigh and Mate Kovac - Hungary - Men - Entry Fee contribution
Reka Vigh and Kinga Szabo - Hungary - Men - Entry Fee contribution
Rob Lehane and Larlaith Kennedy - Ireland - Men - Entry Fee contribution
Madara Dan?auska and R?ta Eistrei?e - Latvia - Women - Used 470 Sails
National Class Association to decide - Lithuania - TBC - New 470 Sails
National Class Association to decide - Macedonia - Men - Used 470 Sails
Diogo Gameiro and Miguel Fonseca - Portugal - Men - New 470 Sails
Anna Kyselova and Liubov Chunichovska - Ukraine - Women - Entry Fee contribution
Augustin Rodrigues Esteva and Guillermo Moreira Rodriguez - Uruguay - Men - 470 Spinnaker

Olympic Solidarity Programme
Financial awards have been made to the following amounts, either EUR300, EUR500 or EUR1000.

Name - Nation - Gender - Award
Roberto Bisi and Santiago Masseroni - Argentina - Men - Financial contribution
Aurelia Zulueta and Josefina Eluchans - Chile - Women - Financial contribution
Nicolas Loftis and Louis Christodoulou - Cyprus - Men - Financial contribution
Ondrej Bobek and Pavel Bobek - Czech Republic - Men - Financial contribution
Antonios Tsimpoukelis and George Karonis - Greece - Men - Entry Fee contribution
Andreas Bakasias and Alexandros Bakasias - Greece - Men - Entry Fee contribution
Tamas Szamody and Mihaly Bardos - Hungary - Men - Financial contribution
Barry McCartin and Thomas Chaix - Ireland - Men - Financial contribution
Sarah Berry and Emma Berry - New Zealand - Women - Financial contribution

Iulia Negoescu (ROU) and Fernanda Sesto (ARG) manage the 470 Development Programmes and have had the challenge of filtering through the applications to determine the recepients.

Negoescu commented, "The 470 Class will continue to strive to offer financial support to break down barriers in the sport of sailing and improve the ability for sailors to compete around the world. We are proud that the efforts of the 470 Class to reach out to young sailors will benefit the next generation to achieve their sailing goals. These financial awards will make a real difference and tackle one of the challenges facing sailing."

Fernando Sesto added, "There are many sailors out there who are amazingly talented and have great potential. We know it can be financially constraining to travel around the world and pay entry fees. I hope that the awards recognize the contribution the sailors make to be part of our univeral sport and congratulations to all the sailors who have been selected to the 2010 470 Solidarity Programmes."

For more information on 470 Development Programmes -
Luissa Smith, International 470 Class Association
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM