The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
19 April 2010, 11:23 am
Winners Confirmed at Palma Vela
Mini Maxi Container
Container winner of the Mini Maxi Class

Hublot Palma Vela 2010
Palma de Majorca, Spain

Late surprises in the last and best day of racing in the bay of Palma, resulted in changes in the Maxi Wally and RI 2 top positions. In a nice breeze of up to 12 knots, and an airplane free sky, the Hublot PalmaVela regatta held the last races of its 7th edition on Sunday. All fleets were on the water, with Maxis and TP 52's running their coastal races.
Artemis won in the TP52 class, with Cristabella finishing the regatta strongly to secure second place. Magic Carpet won by two points in the Maxi Wally class, and Container sealed the win in the Mini Maxi class. In the J-80, Platú 25, RI 1, and RI 2 classes, Peraleja Golf, Iberdrola, Cuadernos Rubio and Ciudad de Ceuta were the winners.

In the TP52 class the victory went to Torbjörn Törnqvist, (SWE) Artemis, thanks to her consistent performance during the first two days, where she managed to open a gap that allowed her to remain in first position, in spite of winning no races during the last two days of the regatta. The surprise of the day was provided by John Cook (GBR) Cristabella, which won the last two races, kicking Matador out of second place in the final classification. The Argentinians lacked consistency throughout the regatta, and in spite of their good results on the third day, at the end they could only manage a third place. It must not be forgetten that this is the TP 52's first race after the new rule's modifications, and that teams are still fine tuning their boats

Maxi Wallys and Mini Maxis completed a 16 mile coastal race in the bay of Palma, with mark roundings in Sech and Illetas. Things went as predicted for the Mini Maxis, with a second place for Udo Schutz's (GER) Container at the end of the race, and a win for Sir Peter Ogden's Jethou, which allowed him to climb the podium in third position. Second in the final classification was Andrés Soriano's Alegre, whereas Neville Crichton's Shockwave dropped down to fourth place at the last moment.

The impressive Wallys ran one of the most exciting regattas of the present edition. Piers Richarson's J One couldn't handle the pressure of Daniel Gallichan's Magic Carpet 2, who recovered her earlier level of performance winning the coastal race. After applying the discard, the British Wally 95 finished first in her class. Second was Richarson's Wally 77 and third was Italian flagged Indio of Stefano Massa.

Among the boats racing in the compensated time class, International Rating 1 (RI 1), Cuadernos Rubio seized first position by recording a first and a second place in the final days races. It was not Aifos' best day, the Spanish Army's boat with Jaime Rodríguez Toubes' at the helm could only manage a seventh and a fourth place, helping Joern Bock's Minnic up to second position, one point ahead of John Bassadone's Península Petroleum with Iñaki Castañer at the helm, which was third.

Ciudad de Ceuta finished first in the final classification thanks to a win in the last race of the class. The boat skippered by Sergio Llorca benefited from a mistake by Vell Marí of Juan Cabrer, and allows the Spanish skipper to taste the victory for the first time since 2005, when he won his fourth and last Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre. Asier García's Modark was third after being very consistent throughout the whole regatta.

The ORC class, Russian X-35 won the final victory after winning both final day's races, ahead of Bruix IV of Miguel Mercada and Omi II of Francisco Llompart.

Final Results

Maxi Wally
1. Magic Carpet 2 (Gallichan), 1+1+(4)+3+2+1: 8
2. J One (Richardson), 2+(3.5)+3+1+1+3: 10
3. Indio (Massa), (4)+3.5+2+2+3+2: 12.5

Mini Maxi
1. Container (Schutz), 1+(4)+1+1+3+2: 8
2. Alegre (Soriano), 3+2+2+(4)+1+3: 11
3. Jethou (Ogden), 2+3+4+(8)+4+1: 14

TP 52
1. Artemis (Tornqvist), 1+1+1+1+2+3+2+(3): 11
2. Cristabella (Cook), 2+2+(4)+2+3+2+1+1: 13
3. Matador (Roemmers), 3+3+2+3+1+1+(3)+2: 15

1. Peraleja Golf (Martínez), 1+(3)+1+1+1+3+2+2+1: 12
2. Nextel (Camino), 4+1+3+4+4+6+4+5+(11): 31
3. ECC Viviendas, (Torcida), 2+4+10+(14)+2+1+5+1+10: 35

Platú 25
1. Iberdrola (Weiller), 2+2+2+1+1+1+3+3+(7): 15
2. Inmobiliaria Nova (Forteza), 1+1+3+4+(4)+3+2+2+1: 17
3. Ziving Badia (Momparler), 3+3+4+3+3+(5)+1+1+2: 20

RI 1
1. Cuadernos Rubio (Maldonado), 5+1+2+1+2: 11
2. Minnic (Bock), 7+2+3+3+3: 18
3. Aifos (Rodríguez Toubes), 2+6+1+7+4: 20

RI 2
1. Ciudad de Ceuta (Llorca), 2+2+2+2+1: 9
2. Vell Marí (Cabrer), 1+3+1+1+4: 10
3. Modark (García Barroso), 3+1+3+4+5: 16

1. Symfony (Viacheslav), 1+1+2+1+1: 6
2. Bruix IV (Mercadal), 3+2+1+5+4: 15
3. Omi II (Llompart), 2+3+3+4+7: 19

Eva Dallo (as amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM