The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
4 October 2010, 10:14 am
Antoine Albeau Takes The 2010 PWA Slalom Title At Colgate World Cup Sylt
PWA 2010 Colgate World Cup
2010 PWA Slalom Champion, Antoine Albeau

Sylt, Germany

Thirty-five times world champion, Bjorn Dunkerbeck claimed the final event crown, but it was Albeau who walked away the 2010 title.
The final day of the 2010 Colgate World Cup Sylt served up some excellent action and the first winner's final of the day was arguably one of the most exciting seen this season. All too often, the newly crowned world champion, Antoine Albeau or the legend Bjorn Dunkerbeck lead from the start, controlling the pack as they hammer their way round the course at full throttle, and then crossing the line with a fist in the air.

Race six however was completely different. Both Albeau and Dunkerbeck were buried at the beginning allowing the PWA's president, Jimmy Diaz to have his moment of glory. Diaz lead the pack around the first mark, but unfortunately for him, his team mate, Cyril Moussilmani was hot on his heels, and halfway round the race managed to sneak his way past to take line honours.

Meanwhile, Albeau and Dunkerbeck were having their own battles out the back, which would determine their positions in the overall event standings. Dunkerbeck fought his way through the fleet, using his outstanding speed to finish third within touching distance of Diaz. Albeau battled hard throughout the heat, but was fighting a lost cause with Dunkerbeck out in front. A fifth for the current world champion saw him comfortably in a top two position, but the Sylt crown went to Dunkerbeck.

With the event results, and the overall rankings already decided for Dunkerbeck and Albeau, the real battle in race seven was for the final spot on the podium. Two sailors had the possibility of claiming third place and they happened to be lined up next to each other in the final race of the season.

The two in question were 2009 runner up, Finian Maynard and flying Frenchman, Cyril Moussilmani. Moussilmani was on a roll having claimed victory in the previous elimination, whereas Maynard was recovering from a complete disaster after a broken fin saw him exit the last race in the quarterfinals.

When the gun went, you could feel the tension that had built up on the water all the way back at the beach. Maynard burst into the front of the pack, and held his ground. Just as it looked like he had done his job, disaster struck. Moussilmani rounded the mark and could not pump onto the plane, leaving the race director with no choice but to cancel the heat.

In the re-run, Maynard and Moussilmani were neck-and-neck in an all-time showdown for that final podium spot. Once again, however, lady luck wasn't on Maynard's side, as a small collision between the two sailors saw them swimming at one of the buoys. Moussilmani leapt back on his board and raced off into the distance to claim his place next to Albeau and Dunkerbeck, whilst Maynard was left to regain his composure.

Event Results
1. Bjorn Dunkerbeck (Starboard, Severne, Mystic)
2. Antoine Albeau (JP, NeilPryde)
3. Cyril Moussilmani (Starboard, North)
4. Finian Maynard (RRD, Gaastra)
5. Kevin Pritchard (Starboard, Gaastra, Dakine, MFC)

2010 Men's Slalom Rankings
1. Antoine Albeau (JP, NeilPryde)
2. Bjorn Dunkerbeck (Starboard, Severne, Mystic)
3. Cyril Moussilmani (Starboard, North)
4. Micah Buzianis (JP, NeilPryde)
5. Finian Maynard (RRD, Gaastra)

Head judge, Duncan Coombs made every effort to get the double elimination going in the gusty winds by doing everything within his power to please the competitors, but it just was not meant to be. This left the results unchanged from day three when the single elimination came to its conclusion.

Event Results
1. Jose 'Gollito' Estredo (Fanatic, North)
2. Taty Frans (Starboard, MauiSails, Mystic)
3. Steven Van Broeckhoven (F2, Gaastra)
4. Kiri Thode (Starboard, Gaastra)

2010 Men's Freestyle Rankings
1. Jose 'Gollito' Estredo (Fanatic, North)
2. Taty Frans (Starboard, MauiSails, Mystic)
3. Kiri Thode (Starboard, Gaastra)
4. Steven Van Broeckhoven (F2, Gaastra)

Due to the lack of sufficient wind and waves, neither the men's or women's fleets hit the water this week leaving the overall rankings unaffected by Sylt.

The absence of a result this week means that the 2010 women's wave rankings were decided on just one event in Gran Canaria where Daida Ruano Moreno once again proved she is the woman to beat with an outstanding aerial display, and some great wave rides. Her twin sister, Iballa Ruano Moreno finished a close second, with the fearless Karin Jaggi claiming the final podium spot.

2010 Women's Wave Rankings
1. Daida Ruano Moreno (Starboard, Severne)
2. Iballa Ruano Moreno (Starboard, Severne)
3. Karin Jaggi (Patrik, Severne)
4. Nayra Alonso (Fanatic, Severne)
5. Steffi Wahl (Patrik, Severne)

The men's wave fleet have one final opportunity to prove their worth in 2010 at the hardcore destination of Cabo Verde in November. But, leaving Sylt without a result does mean that there will now be no discard for the year.

Current Men's Wave Rankings
1. Victor Fernandez (Fanatic, North, MFC)
2. Ricardo Campello (JP, NeilPryde, MFC)
3. Philip Koster (Starboard, NeilPryde, Dakine)
4. Kauli Seadi (JP, NeilPryde, MFC)
5. Dany Bruch (Patrik, Severne, MFC)

For more information, videos and photographs from the event go
PWA World Tour
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM