The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
25 October 2010, 09:02 am
Six New Women's Match Racing National Champions Confirmed
Clarie Leroy
Claire Leroy defends her national title

Women's Match Racing National Championships 2010

It's a been a busy month for on the women's match racing circuit with six new National Champions crowned. Denmark, France, Great Britian, Ireland, Poland and Italy have all completed their 2010 national championship - a short wrap up of each follows.
Denmark - Mandy Mulder (NED) Wins the Danish Women's Match Racing Championships.

Six teams from four countries competed in Elliott 6ms at the Royal Danish Yacht Club in Skovshoved Harbour, Denmark for the Danish Women's Match Racing Championships over this past weekend. The teams sailed a double round robin.

Final Results:
1. Mandy Mulder (NED), 7-3
2. Vesna Dekleva Paoli (SLO), 6-4
3. Trine Abrahamsen (DEN), 5-5
4. Silke Hahlbrock (GER), 5-5
5. Susanne Ward (DEN), 4-6
6. Lotte Meldgaard Pedersen (DEN), 3-7

France - French #1 Claire Leroy Claims Another National Title at Championnat de France de Match Racing Féminin

Claire Leroy and team (FRA) have won Women's Match Racing National Championship in France held over the weekend of 15-17 October.

Unfortunately, the event at St Quay Portrieux was beset with problems with the first day of competition becoming a training day as competitors struggled to reach the venue. The first round robin took place in strong winds and choppy water and with all crews meeting once the French #1 Claire Leroy, sailing on home waters, was unbeaten.

The second round robin and finals were scheduled for Sunday and less wind was expected. Unfortunately, the wind did not show up at all and the finals had to be cancelled. The final results were therefore decided on the round robin results.

Final Results
1. Claire Leroy 12 points
2. Julie Bossard 9 points
3. Morgane Fountaine 9 points
4. Marie Duvignac 5 points
5. Aurelie Maury 3 points
6. Morgane Dreau 3 points
7. Léa Gannerie 1 point

Over the weekend of 9-10 October the national championships were held in Great Britain and Ireland.

Great Britain - Victoria Rawlinson claims her first RYA Women's Match Racing National title
The 2010 RYA Women's Match Racing Nationals took place at the Weymouth and Portland National Sailing Academy. Six teams contest the title and it was new addition to the Skandia Team GBR Women's Match Racing Squad, 27 year old Victoria Rawlinson, proved her talent to win her first national title with crew Mary Rook, Ali Martin and Holly Scott.

Strong winds, 20-25 knots, and a mist which cleared into bright sunshine both days, made for a physically demanding two days of competition allowing the race committee to easily fit in a full schedule of two round robin series followed by the semi-final, petit-final and championship deciding final. Endurance and focus were key.

Sweden's Anna Kjellberg dominated the round robin stages winning all ten of her races but Rawlinson, learning from every races, progressed through to defeat Kjellberg in an enthralling climax to the event.

The Emsworth based sailor said of her team's win: "It's a fantastic feeling to have won. It's really really inspiring and as a team we're chuffed to bits!"

Rawlinson will now be invited to compete at the RYA National Match Racing Grand final which will take place at Queen Mary Reservoir from 22-24 October.

Final Results - 2010 RYA Womens' Match Racing Championships
1. Victoria Rawlinson GBR
2. Anna Kjellberg SWE
3. Julie Bossard FRA
4. Kate Macgregor GBR
5. Sophie French GBR
6. Elizabeth Jamie GBR

Ireland - Laura Dillon Claims Inaugural ISA Women's Match Race Championship
The first ever Irish Sailing Association Women's Match Race Championship was completed on Sunday 10 October at Kinsale Yacht Club in Ireland sailing the ISA's SailFleet J/80's.

Saturday racing was postponed due to the strong wind gusting up to 37 knots. An early start on Sunday morning proved to of be little deterrent to the ten enthusiastic teams. With no delays between flights each round was completed in under two hours and the schedule was completed in the mid afternoon.

The winners Laura Dillon's 'Really Naughty' team, who were unbeaten during the event, were presented with the 'Kinsale Regatta Cup' by ISA President Peter Crowley. They were followed in second place by Mary O'Loughlin and the 'Ladies Who Launch' team who beat all except the Really Naughty girls. Proving the all-round ability of an ISA bosun Sue Smithwick stepped in when one of the Ladies Who Launch had to be taken ashore for treatment. In a tiebreak on four points for third place 'The Sailing West Ladies' of Laura Adamson beat Carol O'Kelly and her 'NautiGals' on four points. In their first race one of Audrey's crew decided to try swimming west and test the teams MOB drill. She was promptly recovered by the crew of the boat and completed the day's sailing damp but unbowed. Audrey's team wore their WIMRA T-shirts for the occasion.

The race management team with International Race Officers Alan Crosbie (PRO) and Peter Crowley were busy starting and finishing a race every 12 minutes and there was no rest for the umpire team either with many matches decided by their promptly signalled protest decisions.

This was an ISAF Grade 3 Women's Match Race and all eyes will be on the next World Ranking release on October 27 to see how these teams compare on the world stage.

Final Result
1 Laura Dillon, Really Naughty - 8
2 Mary O'Loughlin Ladies Who Launch - 6
3 Audrey Adamson, Sailing West Ladies - 4
4 Carol O'Kelly, NautiGals - 4
5 Alice Cowman, Launched Ladies - 3
6 Chris Nolan, West Sailing Girls - 2
7 Emma Geary, Royal Cork - 1
8 Frances Lynch, Glandore-Kinsale - 1
9 Yvonne Sheehan, Emma's Choice - 1
10 Choryna Kiely, Kinsale Glamour - 0

Poland - Zuzanna Gladysz Wins Polish National Title
The Polish Women Match Racing Championship took place from 6 to 7 October.

Zuzanna Gladysz and her PMT (Polish Women's Match Racing Team) are the new National Champions. Second place was Kasia Pic's team (Ladies PMT Team), third Katarzyna Tyli?ska.

Final Results
1. Zuzanna Gladysz (PMT Women Team)
2. Kasia Pic (Ladies PMT Team)
3. Katarzyna Tylinska

Italy - Cristiana Monina Wins Italian Women's Match Racing Championship

Cristiana Monina and her team (Alessandra Petri and Myriam Cutolo) came out on top at the recently completed Italian Olympic Women's Match Racing Championship in Gaeta, Italy.

The first four teams will compete in the Italian Trials (3 events) and the winner will represent Italy in the ISAF Sailing World Cup events in 2011.

Final Results:
1. Cristiana Monina, Alessandra Petri, Myriam Cutolo
2. Lorenza Mariani, Chiara Forcignanò, Marcella Trioschi
3. Camilla Marino, Francesca Scognamillo, Camilla De Rosa
4. Federica Wetzl, Alessandra Angelini, Marta Parladori,
5. Cristina Celli, Carmen Pardo, Silvia Morini
6. Silvia Zennaro, Delia Da Mosto, Rossella Losito

Event Media/WIMRA/ISAF
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM