The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
22 February 2010, 04:13 pm
ENP Athlete Wins At 2010 RS:X Australian Championships
ENP athlete Howard Chang, of Chinese Taipei, came first in the RS:X event
ENP athlete Howard Chang of Chinese Taipei, came first in the RS:X event

Perth 2011 ISAF Sailing World Championships
Perth, Australia

Perth 2011 Emerging Nations Programme athlete, Howard Chang of Chinese Taipei, topped the RS:X fleet this weekend, as a competitor in the 2010 Australian RS:X Championships.
Although Howard Chang placed first, he was ineligible to be Australian Champion and the coveted award went to West Australian sailor Tim Gourlay. Gourlay placed second overall at the Championships, to take out the sought after Men's 2010 National RS:X Championship title in the Medal Race, off Fremantle.

Gourlay was racing on home waters, as a member of Fremantle Sailing Club, where this year's National Championships were held.

The ENP Regatta was held in conjunction with the RS:X National Championships and Laser, Laser Radial and Laser 4.7 sailors competed. Ki-Raphael Sulkowski (AUS) beat the Laser fleet home, followed consecutively by ENP athletes Nik Azizan Ashraf of Malaysia, and Alexandr Denisiuc of Moldova.

Two of the 11 participants at this third Perth 2011 ENP Intensive Training Session, which winds up on 25 February are women - Rohini Rau of India and Anna Aile of Latvia. Both women placed well in the Laser Radial event at this weekend's ENP Regatta.

The Perth 2011 Emerging Nations Programme is not only assisting top athletes from developing sailing nations but is also providing fantastic opportunities for local sailors, including those training with the Western Australian Institute of Sport (WAIS). WAIS sailors have had the chance to participate locally in international standard regattas, such as the one held this weekend.

Further, many of the younger WAIS sailors are currently benefiting immensely from the ENP programme by participating in on and off-water training sessions, listening to motivational speakers and learning sailing tactics from two of the best in the sport - ENP Head Coaches Belinda Stowell and Arthur Brett.

About The Emerging Nations Programme

The Emerging Nations Programme (ENP) is designed to encourage and assist developing and emerging sailing nations to participate in the Olympic Sailing Competition, increase the number of participating ISAF Member National Authorities (MNAs) and subsequently the number of competitors at the Perth 2011 ISAF Sailing World Championships. From this World Championship, it is hoped 'emerging' talent identified during the ENP will qualify to represent their country in sailing at the 2012 London Olympic Games.

Seven ENP intensive training camps to be held in WA between July 2009 and the Perth 2011 ISAF Sailing World Championships in December 2011. Acclaimed Australian Olympic sailing coach Arthur Brett and 2000 Sydney Olympic Games gold medallist in the women's 470 class Belinda Stowell are guiding the athletes, sharing the knowledge and skill that has seen the pair help spearhead modern Australian Olympic sailing success.

Over the course of the seven ENP intensive training camps, up to 40 athletes from as many nations (not represented in any sailing discipline at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games), will be invited to Perth to improve their chances of earning a place in the Perth 2011 ISAF Sailing World Championships through their involvement with the ENP.

The Perth 2011 ISAF Sailing World Championships Emerging Nations Programme is proudly supported by the Australian Federal Government and the Western Australian State Government.

Click here for further information on the Emerging Nations Programme.

The athletes taking part in the third ENP intensive training camp are:

Event Event Country Class Gender
Qasim Abbas Rahtore Men's Windsurfer Pakistan RS:X Male
Howard Chang Men's Windsurfer Chinese Taipei RS:X Male
Alex Zimmermann Men's One Person Dinghy Peru Laser Male
Nicolas Lozano Men's Windsurfer Colombia RS:X Male
Dany Stanisic Men's One Person Dinghy Serbia Laser Male
Alexandr Denisiuc Men's One Person Dinghy Moldova Laser Male
Nik Azizan Ashraf Men's One Person Dinghy Malaysia Laser Male
Andrew Lewis Men's One Person Dinghy Trinidad and Tobago Laser Male
Anna Aile Women's One Person Dinghy Latvia Laser Radial Female
Rohini Rau Women's One Person Dinghy India Laser Radial Female
Peter Henry Men's One Person Dinghy Cook Islands Laser Male

Find out more about the ISAF Sailing World Championships at

Samantha Scott
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM