The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
8 September 2003, 10:55 am
Volvo Ocean Race CEO Wins Title
No ALT tag specified

1720 European Championship

Triple Laser class world champion Glenn BOURKE emerged overall winner of the Fáilte Ireland 1720 European Championship at Howth this afternoon in a dramatic three-race finale to the series that started last Wednesday.
The Australian won thanks to a a seventh place and a disastrous 28th place for Tim POWELL helming local entry Hibernian in the last race of the day. Brian LENNON and Roger CAGNEY'S team had led the event from outset though pressure mounted on their overall lead from the halfway stage on.

Defending champion Des FAHERTY, also from Howth managed to pull into the top three overall in the 50-boat fleet. Skiff sailor Mel Collins from Cork was at the helm in an all-amateur crew.

Match Racing supremo Chris LAW placed a disappointing fifth overall having held second overall at the outset of the 11-race series.

The four-day event was sailed in a mix of weather from light to fresh winds and the Howth YC received widespread acclaim from crews for the high standard of event management afloat and ashore.

Overall Top Ten

Pos Nation Owner Helm Total
1 GBR Glen Bourke Glen Bourke 62.75
2 IRL Brian Lennon & Roger Cagney Tim Powell 66.25
3 IRL Des Faherty Mel Collins 74.75
4 GBR M & P Hays Kevin Sproul 85
5 IRL Tom and John Murphy Chris Law 89
6 GBR Andrew & Jane McLelland Andrew McLelland 98.75
7 GBR David McClean Mark Rushall 103
8 GBR Ruairidh & Graeme Scott Ruairidh Scott 114.75
9 IRL Ray Donoghue David Rose 127.75
10 IRL Anthony O'Leary Anthony O'Leary 137.75

David Branigan (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM