The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
11 September 2003, 09:49 am
Spanish Sailors Produce Good Results
No ALT tag specified

Spanish National Championship

The Spanish national pre-Olympic team has been proclaimed champions of excellence in the Spanish Championship for the Olympic Classes with a number of the sailors taking first place on the podium in Cadiz.
The last day of the Spanish Championship for the Olympic Classes was noted, as in the two previous occasions, for its favourable wind conditions in the trials. The second round qualifiers were memorable for the speedy and competitive way the races were finished, and one in which the competitors drew on their last reserves despite four days of intense competition.

In the Laser Class the black flag was signalled to the Portuguese Gustavo LIMA in a dispute of the second race, which weighs heavily on the second place he got after being penalised in the provisional finals. Also, three general calls were signalled at the start of the second race of the day, and also the last day in the Spanish Championship. Luis Martínez DORESTE (ESP) took the Spanish title, followed by Angelo TABERNERO and Mariano SARMIENTO. First overall went to Gareth BLANCKENBURG (RSA), with Lima (POR) in second and Diego ROMERO (ARG) in third.

The 470 team of Gustavo MARTÍNEZ and Dimas WOOD have won the Spanish Championship but only finished in tenth overall. The champions declared that, "We are very happy, we have been able to increase our overall points. The participation of the foreign teams has been a good thing because it has raised the level of competitiveness."

Following in second place are Marc PATIÑO and Juan OMAR. The skipper Patiño commented that they were unhappy with the previous day's results. Despite that, the second place in the Spanish Championship was gratifying as their main objective is to gain points in order to participate in the Olympic Games in Athens.

The Spanish team of Natalia VIA DUFRESNE and Sandra AZON have been proclaimed Spanish champions and third in the final classification, demonstrating once again their ISAF Number One Ranking in the world in their Class. There were no other Spanish 470 teams and the overall win went to Sofia Bekatorou and Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE) with Great Britain's Josie GIBSON and Sue PARKIN in second.

The crews of Fernando ECHAVARRI and Anton PAZ, Enrique GARCÍA de SOTO and Fernando SALES have the Gold and the Bronze respectively in the Spanish titles. The runners up for Spain is the team of Manuel CALAVIA and Carlos VAREA. Echavarri is also the overall winner in the general definitive results.

The same is the case in the 49er Class with Santiago LÓPEZ and Javier De La PLAZA taking the overall gold and the Spanish title. Second went to Juan Luis PAEZ GUTIERREZ and Carlos De BRICIO MUÑOZ and third to current World Champions Iker MARTINEZ and Xabi FERNANDEZ, despite the latter not competing on the last day due to Fernandez fracturing his right arm. Second and third overall both went to British teams.

The Spaniards in the Finn (Rafael TRUJILLO) and Yngling (Mónica AZÓN) did not have much luck after leading these last few days of qualifiers. They have had to accept second place in the final table.

Spanish champions and second overall in the Star Class are the Gallicians Roberto BERMÚDEZ and Pablo ARRARTE, only beaten by the Frenchmen Xavier ROMART and Pascal RAMBEAU.

The Mistral Class has been the crowning glory of the pre-Olympic Andalusians with a second overall for Curro MANCHÓN and third in the women's Mistral for Marina Albeau. First in both fleets went to the French, Nicholas HUGUET in the men's and Synthia GROS the women's.

Number one in the ISAF World Rankings in the Europe Class, the Norwegian Siren SUNDBY, is now the champion of the Europe Class Open Week for Women, followed by the New Zealander Sarah MACKY and the Czech Lenka SMIDOVA in third place. In the Spanish Championship: Neus GARRIGA-TURÓN took the title, Marina GALLEGO was second and Alicia CEBRIÁN third.

Event Media (As Amended by ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM