The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
22 September 2003, 10:41 am
Vincent HOESCH Becomes 2003 H-Boat World Champion
No ALT tag specified

H-Boat World Championship

The final day saw another early start for the sailors but this time the wind blew. Two short races were completed and despite a 16 in the last race, Vincent HOESCH and his crew (GER) did enough with a bullet in race five to secure the title.
Chief Race Office, Dr. OESER made the right decision on Day Four when he announced an early start for the competitors. Some sailors thought this was crazy when the boats got towed to the starting line without any wind in sight. But the wind started to blow at the right moment and one shortened race was carried out.

As expected Stefan FRAUSCHER and his crew crossed the finishing line first, followed by Dirk STADLER and Vincent HOESCH. Stadler thus took the lead in the overall points from Micki LIEBL who had a bad day and finished 20 to be placed fourth going into the final day. Stefan FRAUSCHER who was the winner of the day improved his overall score from 35 to 19. Day Three winner Werner FRITZ started too early and due to the black flag he and four more early starters got disqualified. He fell back from fourth to 22

Dr OESER tried a further race right after the first one but he had to stop when the wind died completely. The boats were towed back into the harbour and unfortunately the expected wind from east did not come and the sailors had time to themselves on the terrace.

Day Five

The first starting signal sounded sharply at 0800 local time in a force three to four breeze and a blazing autumn sun. After an hour and a half, Vincent HOESCH clinched the race followed closely by Christian SCHILLING from Switzerland in second and Werner FRITZ (GER) in third.

Race six was started immediately after the race five and it was Denmark all the way. Steffen STEGGER who finally finished 19 overall triumphed ahead of his compatriots Herluf JOERGESEN and Bo SELKO. The race died toward the end of the race making it a frustrating end to the championship for the sailors at the back of the fleet.

No more races were completed in the afternoon due to the lack of wind and the championship was concluded with Vincent HOESCH together with Willi GERLINGER and Michael LIPP taking the title with 28 points, an even greater achievement as the three had not sailed together prior to the championship.

In second place with five points arrears was Dirk STADLER with Patric PURIN and Markus SPARK. The bronze medal went to Wolfgang DOERING, Thomas KAUSEN and Norbert KAUSEN

Top Ten Overall - After 6 Races
Pos Helm/Crew Nation R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 Points
1 Vincent HOESCH/Willi GERLINGER/Michael LIPP GER 1 -31 7 3 1 16 28
2 Dirk STADLER/Patric PURIN/Markus FUNKE GER 5 7 12 2 -15 7 33
3 Wolfgang DÖRING/Thomas KAUSEN/Norbert KAUSEN GER 3 10 -14 7 5 14 39
5 Werner FRITZ/Lars WALTER/Marcus STEINLEIN GER 11 23 1 (BFD) 3 9 47
6 Kay NIEDERFAHRENHORST/ Birgit SCHWAB /Florian WIDER GER -33 11 2 9 12 30 64
7 Hermann SCHULTHEIß/Roger LÜBBE/Peter WIESNER GER 20 4 27 12 (DSQ) 5 68
8 Christian SCHILLING/Roman JUCHLI/Andreas WALTER SUI 7 12 26 -38 2 22 69
9 Roland SCHWARZ/Hans STERNAGEL/Holger JAKOBI GER 10 19 -35 4 14 24 71
10 Hans PEULEN/Raymond JANSSEN/Marko ROERDINK NED -39 17 30 10 6 10 73
Event Media (As Amended by ISAF Secretariat)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM