The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 September 2003, 09:52 am
Canadian Wins Grade 2 Event
No ALT tag specified

Knickerbocker Cup
Knickerbocker YC

Terry MCLAUGHLIN, and his crew, Phil GOW, Geoff MOORE, and Allan MEGARRY have won the 2003 Knickerbocker Cup. The last day on Sunday brought challenging conditions for the four teams who advanced to the semi-finals and finals in this ISAF Grade 2 event.
Because of a dying northerly on Saturday forcing the Race Committee to call it a day before the full round robin was completed, those flights were raced early Sunday morning in light wind, again coming out of the north. As the day wore on, the wind became lighter, and for the semi-finals and finals the wind was a paltry 4 knots.

The four teams who advanced to the semi-finals were: Terry MCLAUGHLIN (CAN) Andy GREEN (GBR), Mattias RAHM (SWE) and Mason WOODWORTH (GBR).

As the high point team after the full round robin, McLaughlin chose Woodworth to race against in the semi-finals, beating him 2-1 in the best of three series. The first match between McLaughlin and Woodworth looked like a photo finish at the end, except that Woodworth had to complete a penalty turn, giving line honors to McLaughlin. Woodworth beat McLaughlin easily in the second match, but McLaughlin came on strong to win the third match, winning the right to go after the winner of the Green-Rahm match.

Andy Green easily disposed of Rahm, 2-0 in their semi-final duel. It was the McLaughlin team against Andy GREEN and his crew for first and second place, with McLaughlin beating Green 2-0, in the best of three matches. Rahm and Woodworth were paired to determine third and fourth place, with Rahm beating Woodworth 2-1.

The competition for fifth to ninth place was fierce. A tie between Martin ANGSELL (SWE) and Dave DELLENBAUGH (USA), for fifth place was broken in favour of Angsell who had beaten Dellenbaugh in the round robin. A three-way tie for seventh place between Matteo SIMMONCELLI (ITA), John MOLLICONE (USA) and Przemek TARNACKI (POL), was more difficult to determine. Since each team had one point against each other, the tie breaker went to Mollicone who had beaten the first place finisher, McLaughlin once, giving him seventh place. The tie for eighth place between Simoncelli and Tarnacki was broken in favour of Simoncelli who had beaten Tarnacki during the round robin.

The top four winners are not new to the winners circle. Terry McLaughlin has won the York Cup Match Racing Championship six times (2002, 1999, 1993-1996), won the Canada Cup (Canada vs. USA) in 2001 and was a member of the Canadian Olympic Team in 1980 and again in 1984.

Andy Green came in first in the 2003 Laureus Regatta Match Racing in Monaco, was fourth in the 2003 IMS Freixenet Regatta in Barcelona, Spain, and in 2002 was fourth in the Congressional Cup, fifth in the Newport Swedish Match, seventh in the Louis Vuitton Cup Challenger Race for the America's Cup where he was the starting helmsman, afterguard and rules advisor for GBR Challenge.

America's Cup Hall of Famer, Ed du Moulin, Past Commodore of the Knickerbocker YC and founder of the Knickerbocker Cup, awarded first prize to the McLaughlin team and congratulated them on their win. du Moulin remembered McLaughlin from the America's Cup days back in 1983 when McLaughlin was the Canadian contender to challenge for the Cup and was eliminated by Australia II, which went on to win the Cup and take it away from the United States for the first time in history.

He continued, "We are pleased to include your name on the permanent trophy which resides at our club. You'll be in good company as you join the past twenty winners which include Paul Cayard, Russell Coutts, and Peter Gilmore." In accepting the award, McLaughlin introduced his crew and then said, "I have been to the Knickerbocker Cup before and was impressed to see the dedication of all the volunteers who help make this event successful. I am glad to see it hasn't changed at all."


1. Terry McLaughlin, Canada
2. Andy Green, Great Britain
3. Mattias Rahm, Sweden
4. Mason Woodworth, USA
5. Martin Angsell, Sweden
6. Dave Dellenbaugh, USA
7. John Mollicone, USA
8. Matteo Simoncelli, Italy
9. Przemek Tarnacki, Poland
10. Sven-Eric Horsch, Germany
11. Damian Emery, USA
Andrea Watson (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM