The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
26 April 2003, 07:22 pm
Robertson Wins Youthsail Winning All 12 Races
No ALT tag specified

2003 YouthSail
Sandspit YC

The final day of Youthsail was sailed off Algies Bay today, finishing with Yachting New Zealand announcing the 2003 New Zealand Youth Sailing Team and the 2003 National Youth Squad.

The NZ Youth Sailing Team is:

David Robertson - Boardsailor
Anna Eason - Boardsailor
Luke Judge - Laser
Jo Aleh - Europe
Scott Kennedy/Alastair Thompson - 420
Olivia Powrie/Sarah Bilkey - 420

The National Youth Squad includes all members of the above team and the following sailors

Antonio Cozzolino - Boardsailor
Hayley Thom - Boardsailor
Blair McLay - Laser
Thomas Powrie - Laser
Jane Macky - Europe
Myles Cleave/Nick Sayes - 420
Garth Ellingham/Scott Illingworth - 420
Samantha Harrison/Chantal Boon - 420
Hayden Bruce/Aidan Maw - 29er
Scott Morrison/James Williamson -29er

These sailor will train together over the coming months, building up to the ISAF Youth Sailing World Championships and other class world championships. They will receive coaching from some of New Zealand's best, along with support on and off the water.

Youth Trial Classes (Laser, Europe, Mistral, 420)
David Robertson finished his regatta the same way he started, winning all the races of the day, showing. He will be looking to carry on from the success of boardsailor Thomas Ashley in a few months time at the World Championships. He will now look to train with the Olympic class boardsailors to make the jump required to perform on a World scale.

Anna Eason sailed 3 good races today to increase her lead and comfortably win the women's boards from Hayley Thom. With this being Eason's last year as a youth, things look promising for the future with Hayley Thom showing some good potential.

Scott Kennedy/Alastair Thompson sailed a consistent series in all 12 races, always in the top bunch of the fleet. Meanwhile in the girls fleet Olivia Powrie/Sarah Bilkey increased their lead over the rest of the fleet, however the race for 2nd and 3rd changed with Northland sailors Samantha Harrison/Chantal Boon finishing third ahead of Hayley Wilson/Rosie Sargisson.

Luke Judge continued his consistency in the laser class, winning comfortably from Blair McLay and Thomas Powrie. In the Europe class, Jo Aleh finished on a high note winning 2 of the 3 races, so take out the regatta from Jane Macky.

Overall Standings:

1 Luke Judge (15 points)
2 Blair McLay (22 points)
3 Thomas Powrie (27 points)

1 Jo Aleh (13 points)
2 Jane Macky (17 points)
3 Shandy Buckley (26 points)

Mistral (Men and Women)
1 David Robertson (10 points)
2 Anna Eason (27 points) - FIRST GIRL
3 Antonio Cozzolino (31 points)
4 Hayley Thom (35 points) - SECOND GIRL
5 Michael Lichtwark (37 points)
6 Louise Wilkinson (56 points) - THIRD GIRL

1 Scott Kennedy/Alastair Thompson (12 points)
2 Myles Cleave/Nick Sayes (20 points)
3 Garth Ellingham/Scott Illingworth (35 points)
4 Olivia Powrie/Sarah Bilkey (44 points) - FIRST GIRLS
11 Samantha Osbourne-Harrison/Chantal Boon (87 points) - SECOND GIRLS
12 Hayley Wilson/Rosie Sargisson (74 points) - THIRD GIRLS
Other Youth Classes (Starling, 29er, P Class, Splash)
Overall Standings:

1 Max Andrews 22 points) - Akl
2 Luke Adams (30 points) - Akl
3 Nicole Halliburton (57 points) - Akl

1 Peter Graham/George Wills 11 points) - Dunedin
2 Craig Campbell/Iain Begg (29 points) - Dunedin
3 Jim Maloney/Jimmy Maloney (30 points) - Kerikeri
4 Helen Caley/Jane Monk (35 points) - Dunedin - FIRST GIRLS

P Class
1 Michael Langley (12 points) - Auckland
2 Joshua Adams (21 points) - Napier
3 James Sandall (23 points) - Warkworth

1 Brett Elstob (11 points) - Taipa
2 James Ledingham (22 points) - Whangarei
3 Andy Maloney (27 points) - Kerikeri
Julie Worth
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM