The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
19 April 2003, 08:47 am
Swedish sailor Fredrik Svensson Overall Winner
No ALT tag specified
470's ©

Princess Sofia Trophy
Palma, Mallorca

In yesterday's last day of competition 34 races were sailed, with most classes completing 2 races, in prevailing winds of 220-230º at 7-9 knots, in the 34th holding of the ISAF Grade 2 Princess Sofia Trophy.
With the provisional results out, the absolute winner of this year's championship was Europe Men sailor Fredrik Svensson from Sweden with 5 wins out of the 10 races sailed.

49er - The 49er fleet was dominated by the Spanish, with a first and second overall at the end of racing today, with Santiago López-Vázquez and Javier de la Plaza followed by Iker Martínez and Xavier Fernández. However, the leading Spanish crew had a clear 11 point lead, whereas reigning world champions Martinez and Fernandez were .4 of a point ahead of the third placed Ukranian team Rodion Luka and George Leonchuk in third.

470 Women - Today's two races for the women saw the series leaders, Sofia Bekatorou and Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE) post an OCS to wipe their chances of a podium place, leaving the door open for Olympic Gold medallists Jenny Armstrong and Belinda Stowell (AUS) post a 5, 7 to take the championship. An improvement on their 2002 result of fifth overall. Not far behind in second, on equal points but a deficit on countback, were the Spanish crew of Natalia Vía Dufresne and Sandra Azón, with the third placed Therese Torgersson and Vendela Zachrisson (SWE) a significant 22 points behind in third.

Laser - Defending champion from 2002, Paul Goodison (GBR) who was lying in pole position prior to going into today's racing, could not compete with Daniel Birgmark's (SWE) double bullet score, and finished second overall, with Birgmark taking the title with a 2 point margin. Fellow Swede Karl Suneson, placed third overall. Despite a strong start and for a while holding the series lead, Michael Blackburn (AUS), finished 6th overall as his performance seemed to tail off in the final three races.

Mistral Women - No change in the top three from day three, with Lee Lai Shan (HKG) taking the title, followed by Alexandra Sensini (ITA) and Faustine Merret (FRA).

Despite an OCS in the penultimate race 8, Lee Lai's scoreline of 6 first places was sufficient to easily lay her claim to the title with an 11 point margin over Sensini. Interestingly, the top three sailors had a major 31 point margin over the rest of the fleet.

A disappointing regatta for the world ranked number one, Natasha Sturges (GBR) who posted DNC in more races than she contested. However, when she raced she certainly showed her form.

Mistral Men - With four 1st places in the 9 race series, Nick Dempsey (GBR) retained his lead from Day 3, posting a 6 and 1. In second was French saoilor Julian Bontemps and third Joao Rodrigues from Portugal.

France will be pleased with their overall results, taking 4 places in the top ten.

Yngling - British team Shirley Robertson, Sarah Aytona and Inga Leask took the title in the Yngling class, with a 6 point margin over Dorte O. Jensen, Helle Jespersen and Rachel Kiel (DEN) who had led the fleet from the start, with Ulrike Schuemann, Wibke Buell and Winnie Lippert (GER) in third place.

For Shirley, this win is a double, as it is also her first win at any ISAF Graded event in the Yngling Class.

Not so pleasing for the world's number one Spanish trio, and reigning world champions, Monica Azon, Laia Tutzo and Julie Garcia who placed 16th overall, despite placing their best results in today's final races with a 2, 3.

470 Men - World ranked number one duo Nathan Wilmot and Malcolm Page (AUS) were upstaged by their team mates Mathew Belcher and Dan Belcher (AUS), who sailed a consistent series to claim pole position, ahead of Wilmot and Page's 8th overall. However, it was very close with only 1 point separating each of first, second and third places, which were in turn taken by Alvaro Marinho and Miguel Nunes (POR) and Benjamin Bonnaud and Romain Bonnaud (FRA).

Europe Women - World ranked number one Europe sailor, Sari Multala (FIN), had secured her place at the top after day 3 and was not going to let go. Despite posting a 37th in race 8 of today's three races, Multala had a secure series of nine results in the top three to place first overall. Second was world ranked number 2 Carolijn Brouwer (NED), followed by Siren Sundby (NOR) in third.

Finn - For the second year, Belgian sailor Sebastien Godefroid took the title in the Finn Class at the Princesa Sofía Trophy. Second place went to Ben Ainslie (GBR) and third to Mateusz Kusznierewicz (POL).

Star - No change in the Star class with the top three crews retaining their places to see Freddie Loof and Anders Ekstrom (SWE) take the title, followed by reigning world champions Iain Percyand Steve Mitchell (GBR) and world ranked number 27 Philippe Presti and Saliou Jean Philippe (FRA) in third.

Tornado - Darren Bundock and Glen Ashby (AUS) took the title having scored a consistent series, followed by Hugh Styles and Adam May (GBR). Third were previous series' leaders Mitch Booth and Herbert Dercksen (NED).

The Antonio Moragues Memorial Trophy, prize awarded by the Spanish Sports Press to the best Spanish youth men and women sailor was awarded to Marc Riera (CN Fornells), Mistral Men class and to Marina Alabau, Mistral Women class (Federación Andaluza de Vela).

The prize giving ceremony was held at 2000 hours last night at Pueblo Español.

For many sailors, it is now straight onto France and the ISAF Grade 1 Semaine Olympique Francaise, which will be the final event included in the May 6 issue of the ISAF World Sailing Rankings. Sign up to receive the Rankings direct by email from ISAF. Go to ISAF Sailor and subscribe via email services.
ISAF Secretariat
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM