The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
20 April 2003, 09:24 am
Lighter Breeze Makes Life Easier
No ALT tag specified

Sail Sydney

With a light sou'easter of 8knots the fleet in the Sail Sydney sailed in very different conditions from yesterdays 25 knots

The fleet experienced a variety of conditions with the breeze ranging from 4 knots to a few 20-knot gusts. With damage that some of the fleet sustained yesterday reducing the fleet sizes some of the classes sailed with less competitors in their fleets.

Kevin Lim sailed a 2,1,1 to maintain his 1st place position in the Laser class. In the Laser Radial Seve Jarvin sailed a 1,1,4 to move into 1st position in the class. In the Flying Ant class James Ward and Kurtis Warner maintained their lead from brothers James and Angus Naylor. The 49'er class saw Emmett Lazich take the gun in races 2,3 and a third in race 4. The Tornado class saw Steve Medwell and Brent Vaughan win the first and second races and a second in the 3rd race which has them in 1st place in the class. In the 2.4mr Paralympic class Stuart Shimeld is leading the class from Michael Leydon. The 420 class saw take Matt Petzke and Jon Newman remain in first with Pete Wilson and Paul Newman moved into second and Elise Rechichi and Rayshelle Martin in third after an OCS in the second race of the day. Evan Walker and Matthew Hodge maintain their first position from yesterday and James Birdsall and Jensen Penney are still leading the Cherub class.


420 class

1. Matt Petzke, John Newman BYS
2. Pete Wilson, Paul Newman BYS
3. Elise Rechichi, Rayshelle Martin RPYC

470 class

1. Ian Salav, Bryon Salav Canberra YC
2. Craig Souter, Kieran Humphries RPAYC

2.4mr class

1. Stuart Shimeld CYC
2. Michael Leydon
3. Peter Thompson YMCASC

49'er class

1. Emmett Lazich, Phil Manning WSC
2. Brendan Garner, Ben O'Brein RGYC
3. John Harris, Euan McNicol AEFL

29'er class

1. Evan Walker, Mathew Hodge Wangi SC
2. Will Critharis, Jeremy Wimot WSC
3. Tom Clout, Sam Newton HHSC

Cherub class

1. James Birdsall, Jensen Penney GRSC
2. Peter McKewen, Carlin de Montfort GRSC
3. James Warner, Luke Hasting GRSC

Laser class

1. Kevin Lim WSC
2. Sean Feeney MHASC
3. Mark Tonner-Joyce RBYC

Laser Radial class

1. Seve Jarvin WSC
2. Martin Cox CYC
3. Ian Quartly RSYS

Flying Ant class

1. James Ward, Kurtis Ward GRSC
2. James Naylor, Angus Naylor GRSC
3. Lachlan Alexander, Mathew Perini NSC

Tornado class

1. Steve Medwell, Brent Vaughan KCC
2. David Hart, Kez Stevens KCC
3. Andrew Macpherson, Andrew Heaney Gosford SC

Sam Chricton
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM