The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
23 July 2003, 11:23 am
Russians Lead
No ALT tag specified

Yngling Open World Championship

After the cancellation of the first day's racing, two races were completed on day two and it is the Russian team of Anna BASALKINA, Vlada UKRAUNTSE and Tatiana VESELOVA who lead from 2001 champion Christoph SKOLAUT.
In race one Katerina GIAKOUNIDOV of Greece came out of the upper left of the course to lead and never let it go. The runs saw a number of changes in position as did the second beat, even though a big right shift skewed the windward leg. Sharon FERRIS of New Zealand capitalised on this to secure second followed by American teams led by Hannah SWETT and Betsy ALISON in third and fourth in a shortened course to the finish.

The second race saw a slight increase in velocity and slightly more right hand shift. Anna BASALKINA, Vlada UKRAUNTSE and Tatiana VESELOVA (RUS) took the bullet ahead of Shirley ROBERTSON, Sarah AYTON and Sarah WEBB (GBR) in second and Kristin WAGNER, Anne HÖLL and Veronika LOCHBRUNNER (GER) in third.

Defending champion Christoph SKOLAUT with Georg SKOLAUT and Wolfgang RIHA (AUT) is showing the benefits of consistency after finishing in sixth place in both races to lie second overall.

The Race Committee attempted to get a third race in but was forced to abandon on the second leg as the breeze finally died out. There are ten races scheduled for the series with one discard after five completed races. Today had been scheduled as a lay day but will now be used to try and get the series back on track.

Top Ten After 2 Races

Position Nation Helm, Crew R1 R2 Points
2 AUT Christoph SKOLAUT, Georg SKOLAUT, Wolfgang RIHA 6 6 12
3 GBR Shirley ROBERTSON, Sarah AYTON, Sarah WEBB 11 2 13,0
4 NZL Sharon FERRIS, Joanna WHITE, Sara WINTHER 2 13 15,0
5 USA Betsy ALISON, Suzy LEECH, Lee ICYDA 4 12 16,0
6 GER Kristin WAGNER, Anne HÖLL, Veronika LOCHBRUNNER 24 3 27,0
7 DEN Trine PALLUDAN, Christina OTZEN, Ida HARTVIG 5 22 27,0
8 USA Hannah SWETT, Joan TOUCHETTE, Melissa PURDY 3 25 28,0
9 AUT Rudi MAYR, Nico PRACHER, Manfred MAGNUS 26 4 30,0
10 DEN Claus Hoj JENSEN, Maria HOLM, Morten HARMSEN 22 8 30,0

ISAF Secretariat (Source: challengeUS)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM