The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
29 July 2003, 11:26 am
Hero|s Welcome For Last Yacht
No ALT tag specified

Sydney Gold Coast Race

All but one yacht in the Sydney Gold Coast Race fleet is due to finish and they can expect a hero's reception, and not just for their efforts in completing the 384 nautical mile passage.
Michael Kelaher's yacht Santana diverted its course to go to the aid of the stricken crew from the 9m yacht Redrock Communications after their boat sank yesterday morning.

Michael, an experienced offshore yachtsman, stood by the Redrock Communications crew in their liferaft until they were picked up by the Water Police and at one stage had to tow the liferaft away from South Solitary Island when they floated dangerously close.

Santana's ETA across the finish line at Main Beach is 10.00am this morning. They will then make their way to Southport Yacht Club for a hero's welcome.

Final divisional places have this morning been confirmed and are as follows:

IMS Division A
1st in Division and 1st Overall - Ragamuffin, Farr 50 (Syd Fischer, NSW)
2nd - Quest, Nelson Marek 46 (Bob Steel, NSW)
3rd - Fitness First Sting, Farr 49 (Terry Mullens, NSW)

IMS Division B
1st - Nips n Tux, IMX 40 (Matthew de Torres, NSW)
2nd - Cuckoos Nest, Sydney 38 (Nigel Holman, NSW)
3rd - Amante, Sydney 36 (Dennis Cooper, NSW)

IRC Division A
1st in Division and 1st Overall - Grundig, MBD 66 (Sean Langman, NSW)
2nd - Luna Park Sydney, Simons/Voogd 79 (Ludde Ingvall, NSW)
3rd - Espresso Forte, Beneteau 54 (Laurence Freedman, NSW)

IRC Division B
1st - About Time, Cookson 12 (Julian Farren-Price, NSW)
2nd - Eye Candy, Sydney 38 (Geoffrey Boettcher, SA)
3rd - Hidden Agenda, Sydney 38 (Graham Gibson, NSW)

IRC Division C
1st - Corum, Mumm 36 (Bill Wild, QLD)
2nd - Tow Truck, Mumm 30 (Anthony Paterson, NSW)
3rd - Enigma, Mumm 30 (Stewart Lewis, QLD)

PHS Division A
1st in Division and 1st Overall - Strewth, Lyons 49 (Geoff Hill, NSW)
2nd - UBS Wild Thing, Inglis 50 (Geoff Lavis, NSW)
3rd - Bullistic, Bull 1200 (Andy Allsep/Gary Anderson, VIC)

PHS Division B
1st - Balmain Experience, NSX 38 (Tony Williams, NSW)
2nd - Witchdoctor, Davidson 42 (Maurie Cameron, NSW)
3rd - Azzurro, Bruce Clarke 46 (Trevor Cosh, NSW)

Sydney 38 One-Design
1st - Eye Candy
2nd - Hidden Agenda
3rd - Wadadli (Gordon Ketelbey, NSW)

Line honours: Grundig - elapsed time 1 day 5 hours 13 minutes 33 seconds.
Event Media (As Amended by ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM