The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
11 July 2003, 01:38 pm
Big First-time Contingent Sailing North to the Gold Coast
No ALT tag specified

2003 Gold Coast Race

Of the 67 Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race entries received by the CYCA by the 5.00pm deadline this afternoon, at least 15 are first time competitors in this event, the opening race of the 2003-2004 offshore racing season.
At the big end of town, two Volvo 60s, Andrew Short Marine djuice (Andrew SHORT) and Magnavox 2UE (Sorensen, Hodder, Gray, Zemanek) will make their Gold Coast Race debut as will Ludde INGVALL'S 80-foot former Sydney Hobart Yacht Race line honours winner Luna Park Sydney (formerly Nicorette).

The biggest threat to a line honours win for one of these three newcomers is Sean LANGMAN'S 65-foot skiff Grundig, first over the line in the 2001 race, sailing with a reduced crew for maximum weight advantage.

Other new boats this year include two of the three Queensland boats entered, Richard WYATT'S Beneteau 47.7 Shere Khan and Stewart LEWIS'S Mumm 30 Enigma, as well as the Sydney 38 Eye Candy chartered by South Australian yachtsman Geoff BOETTCHER, one of 14 of these One Designs racing north.

The Farr 40OD Panther, bought by well-known Etchell and 16-foot skiff sailor Stephen O'ROURKE has just arrived in Sydney off a boat from Malaysia where it has been sailing as Paloma for the past 18 months. O'Rourke's first sail on his new boat is planned for this Sunday in the BMW Sydney Winter Series, less than a fortnight out from the Gold Coast start date.

Fresh from its record-breaking circumnavigation of Australia is David PESCUD'S Lyons 52 KAZ, a regular in this mid-winter event. Four of the crew involved in the 6,500 nautical mile circumnavigation are backing up for this race, a 384 nautical miler that begins in Sydney Harbour on Saturday July 26 and finishes off Southport's Main Beach.

Many other regulars make up the entry list including Syd FISCHER'S champion Farr 50 Ragamuffin, David TAYLOR'S Farr 37 Pippin, Randal Wilson's PETERSON 51 Bright Morning Star and Martin JAMES' modified Farr 65 Infinity III, with its new keel and rudder, reconfigured sail plan and full hull re-paint.

A number of former Sydney Hobart Race overall winners are amongst the fleet including the 1995 winner Terra Firma, now being sailed by Victorian yachtsman Nicholas BARTELS, brother of the former co-owner Peter BARTELS, and another Victorian boat Stratcorp Ninety-Seven (Chris DARE), the 1993 handicap winner.

Last year's Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race overall winner and 2002-2003 IMS Blue Water Champion, Bob STEEL'S Nelson Marek 46 Quest, has also entered.

There is a strong interstate flavour to the fleet with one South Australian, three Queensland and five Victorian yachts joining the starting line-up, including David GOTZE'S Volvo 60 Indec, formerly the Sydney yacht Merit owned until recently by Ian and Andrea TRELEAVEN.

The race record for the Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race is 27 hours 35 minutes 03 seconds, set by Brindabella in 1999. Owner George SNOW hasn't entered his multiple line honours winner in this year's race, preferring to concentrate on the construction of his new boat.

This year's Gold Coast Race, the eighteenth since the inaugural race in 1986, is also expected to be the last for Sean Langman's current Grundig prior to commencing construction of a bigger and faster skiff-like maxi.

CYCA sailing manager Justine KIRKJIAN is delighted with the fleet size and in particular the interstate and one design representation within the fleet.

"The expanding Sydney 38 fleet as well as an increasing number of interstate skippers have recognised that as well as being a challenging coastal race in its own right, the Gold Coast Race is the perfect feeder to the popular Queensland regattas."

Entries closed at 17:00 local time today however the Sailing Office may accept postal entries and late entries until July 18.

Provisional List of Entries as at 1700 hrs 11th July 2003

Name Owner Designer
About Time Julian Farren-Price Cookson 12
Amante Dennis Cooper Sydney 36
AMI Jade Peter McNamara Sydney 38
Andrew Short Marine-Djuice Andrew Short Volvo 60
Anteater Phil & Robyn Hearse Beneteau 45
Austmark Gunther Schmidt-Lindner Lyons 46
Azzuro Trevor Gosh Bruce Clark 46
Balmain Experience Tony Williams NSX 38
Bashful George Bonus Sydney 38
Big Kahuna Dean Harrigan Beneteau 52
Bright Morning Star Randal Wilson Petersen 51
Broomstick Ray Wallace/Michael Cranitch Open 60
Bullistic Andy Allsep Bull 1200
Cadenza Gunnar Tuisk Farr 50
Champagne on Ice Phil & Nada Dickinson Beneteau 50
Corum Bill Wild Mumm 36
Cuckoos Nest Nigel Holman Sydney 38
De Light Nick DeLaine X442
Easy Tiger Chris Way/Rob McWilliam Sydney 38
Electra Paul Gill Sydney 41
Engima Stewart Lewis Mumm 30
Espresso Forte Laurence Freedman Farr 54
Eye Candy Geoffrey Boettcher Sydney38
Farr Horizons Ivan Resnekov Farr 39
First Priority Chris Lancaster Beneteau 40.7
Fitness First Sting Terry Mullens Farr 50
Getaway Sailing Andrew Lygo Sydney 38
Grundig Sean Langman MBD 66
Hidden Agenda Graham Gibson Sydney 38
Ichi Ban Matt Allen Farr 52
Indec David Gotze Volvo 60
Infinity III Martin James Farr 65
J Force J Force J35
Joe Steven David Swan 45
KAZ David Pescud Lyons 50
Loki Stephen Ainsworth Swan 48
Love Byte Anthony & Alison Pickering Sydney 38
Luna Park Sydney Ludde Ingvall Simons/Voogd 79
Magnavox 2UE Gray/Zemanek/Sorensen/Hodder Volvo 60
More Witchcraft John Cameron Dibbley 46
MRZ Phillip Rowe Jarkan 38
Nips-N-Tux Howard De Torres IMX 40
No Options Tony Levett Sydney 38
Occasional Coarse Language Warwick Sherman Cookson 12
Panther Steve O'Rourke Farr 40
Pendragon Andrew Cochrane Stewart 34
Peugeot Racing Malcolm Roe Beneteau 47.7
Pippin David Taylor Farr 37
Quest Bob Steel Nelson/Marek 49
Ragamuffin Syd Fischer Farr 50
Redrock Communications Christopher Bowling Hick 30
Rush Cameron Miles / Stephen Robson Sydney 38
Santana Mike Kelaher Swan 43
Sea-Change Michael Belakhov Sydney 36
Shere Kahn Richard Wyatt Beneteau 47.7
Stratcorp Ninety Seven Chris Dare Farr 47
Strewth Geoffrey Hill Lyons 49
Swish Steven Proud/William Hutchinson Sydney 38
Terra Firma Nicholas Bartels Murray 41
The Bigger Picture John Woods Sydney 38
The Business Grant Halliday Sydney 38
Tow Truck Anthony Paterson Mumm 30
True North Howard Piggott Beneteau 40.7
UBS Wild Thing Geoff Lavis Inglis 50
Wadadli Gordon Ketelbey Sydney 38
Wahoo Brian Emerson Frers 40
Witchdoctor Maurie Cameron Davidson 42
Lisa Ratcliff (As Amended by ISAF News Editoe)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM