The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
6 July 2003, 03:31 pm
Law Wins Exciting Final 3-2
No ALT tag specified

2003 Swedish Match Cup

British Chris LAW and his Swedish team Henrik WALDERYD, Oscar ANGERVALL, Daniel BJÖRNDAHL and Anders DAHLSJÖ won 12 of their last 14 matches in Marstrand.
The final against the Polish reigning world champion was nevertheless a thriller in the light shifty winds. Law started off with two wins then Jablonski recovered and won two, which made a fifth decisive match necessary won by the Anglo-Swedish team on the finish line: "It's been a privilege to sail with a team working like a fine tuned F-1 engine in the boat", Chris LAW enthused at the prize giving." This is a team sport and for me this team has made all the difference compared to other events this year. I' m extremely pleased with my week here and will be happy to come back next year to defend the title."

"We have really only worked as usual," says main trimmer Henrik WALDERYD, "but with the successes during the week we have performed better and better."

"The whole team has worked well together and given Chris the information he needed. He has made all the crucial decisions himself though," says Daniel BJÖRNDAHL.

Karol JABLONSKI also praises his team and thinks that they have done a good job in the difficult conditions: "Maybe we were a bit tired after lunch when we lost two matches in a row to Chris but then we recovered," Karol laughs, not seeming too disappointed over his second place. "No, we have won three events recently and I know how small the margins are in match racing. Today we were close but didn't quite make it. We didn't know the boats so well to begin with but got better with each day.

Peter HOLMBERG from US Virgin Islands was defeated by Chris Law in the semifinals but managed to beat Danish Jesper BANK 2-1 and came third. " It was a tricky day but the team kept going and we know how to match race," says Peter HOLMBERG.

Results, Swedish Match Cup, Open class

1 Chris Law GBR
2 Karol Jablonski POL
3 Peter Holmberg ISV
4 Jesper Bank DEN
5 James Spithill AUS
6 Jesper Radich DEN
7 Peter Gilmour AUS
8 Mattias Rahm SWE
9 Staffan Lindberg SWE
9 Andy Beadsworth GBR
9 Magnus Holmberg SWE
12 Paolo Cian ITA
12 Johnie Berntsson SWE
12 Mikael Lindqvist SWE
15 Ed Baird USA
16 Jes Gram-Hansen DEN
Event Media
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM