The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
19 October 2003, 11:29 am
No ALT tag specified

Match Race Brazil

With the lack of winds in the morning, and afterwards the strong wind that damaged four sails, the 12 first regattas of Match Race Brazil's second leg were filled with an excitement that delayed the schedule for almost two hours.
The crew of skipper Alan ADLERand tactician Lars GRAEL, however, was not affected by it and conquered three wins, finishing the day as the only one unbeaten in the competition.

"We used the strong wind, which peaked 25 knots, to make a good campaign. The crew was more adjusted than in the first leg, in Buzios", said Alan Adler, Star class 1989 world champion. "We made a not so good start in the two first regattas, but we used the aft wind to react. In the third one, everything was fine, from start to finish".

Tactician Lars GRAEL, São Paulo state Secretary for Youth, Sports and Leisure and former National Sports Secretary, agreed with Adler. He was also satisfied with the crew's performance, but made a point of remembering the lessons learned in Buzios. "Back then we also had a good start, but we lost when we couldn't and ended in third place", said Lars, that this Saturday will be replaced by Jorge ZARIF. The Sports Secretary will be in Santos, in the closing ceremonies of the Regional State Games.

With this Friday's results, Alan ADLER leads the B group, with Torben GRAEL, first leg's champion and João SIGNORINI sharing the top spot in the A Group, with two triumphs each.

Six-times Laser world champion, Robert SCHEIDT also ended the day not quite happy. With one win and two defeats, he lamented the bad performance in the starts. "We could have had a better performance if was not by our delay getting in place to start. This is a deadly mistake in match race competitions".

The eight skippers will return to the competition today at 10 AM (local time), in front of the Ilhabela Yacht Club. 12 more races will decide the semi finalists.

A Group

Torben Grael - 2 wins
João Signorini - 2 wins
Gastão Brun - 1 wins
André Fonseca - 1 wins

B Group

Alan Adler - 3 wins
Marcos Soares - 2 wins
Robert Scheidt - 1 wins
Alex Welter - 0 wins

Event Media
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM