The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
31 October 2003, 09:28 am
US SAILING Announces Skippers Selected for U.S. Offshore Championship
No ALT tag specified

US Offshore Championship

US SAILING has announced the list of skippers who will participate in the U.S. Offshore Championship. The event will take place from Friday, October 31 through Sunday, November 2 at the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD.
Demonstrating its ongoing commitment to the sport of sailing, Rolex Watch USA sponsors the U.S. Offshore Championship, as it does with all of US SAILING's National Adult Championships.

The skippers who will participate in the U.S. Offshore Championship are selected through qualifying events throughout the U.S. or by sailing resume. The participating skippers for this year's events are: Warren HUDSON (Chestnut Hill, MA), Bruce KURYLA (Milford, CT), Leonard SITAR (Holmdel, NJ), Steve MURRAY (New Orleans, LA), Tim MOLONY (Metairie, LA), Hank STUART (Rochester, NY), Matt DUBOIS (Grosse Ile, MI), James HIGHTOWER (Temle, TX), Thomas WHEATLEY (Seal Beach, CA), and Lindy THOMAS (Glenview, IL). An eleventh team representing the U.S. Naval Academy and skippered by Midshipman Kris Von KRUEGER (Baton Rouge, LA), will also compete. In addition, each participating team will have a Midshipman on board as part of the boat's crew.

The U.S. Offshore Championship is a fleet racing competition in offshore keelboats on closed courses plus one long-distance race. Since 1994, racing for this championship has alternated between the U.S. Naval Academy in Navy 44s and Long Beach Yacht Club, CA, in Catalina 37s.

The winner of the U.S. Offshore Championship will receive the Lloyd Phoenix Trophy. The trophy is named after Lloyd Phoenix who graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy in 1861. He served in the Civil War and witnessed the battle between the USS Monitor and the USS Virginia in 1865. After leaving the Navy, he became a yachting enthusiast and Rear Commodore of the New York Yacht Club. In his most famous yacht, the 171 ft. schooner Intrepid, he won the yacht club's 1909 "The Cruise" Trophy. In 1960, the trophy was discovered in a storage locker by Shirley Engle, wife of Capt. Aubrey D. ENGLE, then Commanding Officer of the Naval Station. Aubrey arranged for the Naval Academy Sailing Squadron (NASS) to put up the trophy in honour of Phoenix as a means of improving relations with the civilian yachting community by bringing sailors from Chesapeake Bay yacht clubs to compete with a team of Naval Academy midshipmen. In 1985, the Offshore Council of US SAILING (then called USYRU) sanctioned a national championship for offshore yachts. The Lloyd Phoenix Trophy was offered by NASS for the first match and has continued to be a part of the U.S. Offshore Championship every year since.

For more information on the U.S. Offshore Championship and the skippers selected, please visit the event website below.

Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM