The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
3 March 2003, 12:17 pm
World Champions Take Race One
No ALT tag specified
Ian Percy and Steve Mitchellat Last Years Worlds

Bacardi Cup
Biscayne Bay

Reigning world champions Iain Percy and Steve Mitchell of Britain held off a late charge Sunday to win the opening race of the 76th annual Bacardi Cup Star-Class Regatta.

Percy and Mitchell held off the French team of Xavier Rohart and Yannick Adde by about two boat lengths on Biscayne Bay.

"We kept it steady through a couple of good, long runs and were able to hold on to our lead," said Percy, a 2000 Olympic gold medalist. "We're right where we hoped to be right now."

Defending champions Mark Reynolds and Magnus Liljedahl finished eighth. Reynolds has won the Bacardi Cup a record-tying seven times.

"This is a strong field," said Liljedahl, who has won the regatta four times. "We are happy to have finished in the top 10."

There are 104 teams from 20 countries in this year's regatta, which continues until Friday. Full results are not available at present but will be posted here as soon as they are.
Associated Press
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM