The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
25 April 2005, 12:02 pm
Racing Ends in Spain
No ALT tag specified

PalmaVela-Hublot Regatta 2005
Palma de Mallorca, Spain

The PalmaVela-Hublot Regatta finished yesterday with German boat, Y3K winning in the Maxi Class, after the last race for all classes was sailed in a southwest wind of twelve knots with the Bay of Palma covered in mist.
The maxis brought excitement again with boat Y3K and helmsman and ISAF World Match Race Rankings' number five, Karol JABLONSKI (POL), starting as leaders. However JABLONSKI gave way to English boat J One to finish fourth in the race but take the overall top spot.

The lateen rigged boats sailed a new triangle course with Italian boat Carlinc, from Sardinia, as winner again in the Classic fleet, showing she has been a level above the rest of the competition by winning every race. In the Traditional fleet the victory went to Ancora, owned by Andrés BUADES from Club Náutico de Cala Gamba, with a bad result in the second race effectively ruling out the chances of their nearest rivals, Biomur La Patacha from CN Santa Lucía.

In the one design, Miquel COLOMER, maintained the first place in the First Class 8 despite the late push of Marta REYNÉS' Oxygen, who took the lead in the last leg but finally finished second and three points from the winner. In the Flying Fifteen class there was again a close fight between Javier CHACÁRTEGUI and Michael CLOUGH (GBR), both from RCN del Port de Pollença, with a final victory for CARCÁRTEGUI. In the Dragon class, the Irish crew, with Robin HENNESSY (GBR) at the helm, won their fifth consecutive race and were clear winner of the class.

Another boat that has won the five windward/leeward races sailed is Alcola owned by Estanislao CARPIO, the winner of group 1, IMS racing class. María José PRADES' Kyrie II, finished fifth on the last day of competition but did enough to remain at the top of group 2. Antonio PIZÁ's Tearal was the winner in group 3.

The leaders of the IRC fleet remained the same. Meroil-Solete, a Grand Soleil 45 owned by José TURRÓ led the IRC racing fleet and in the IRC cruiser fleet Javier PUJOL's Calima was on the top of the standings.

The best of the classic boats was Sloop Argos who won all the races sailed, while Agneta, a 1948 Yawl, was the winner in the traditional fleet. Richard BRITIEN-LONG's Dabulamanzi was the winner of the Spirit of Tradition group.

Ocomillas, a Bavaria 49 with Antonio ROMÁN at the helm won the Charter fleet trophy.

The prize giving ceremony was held at 1630 hours local time at RCN Palma and was attended by the sailors of the 210 boats who took part in the regatta.

Elena Pipó (As Amended By ISAF). Image, The Maxis in action:© Nico Martìnez
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM